Blackened BBQ Chicken Tacos

260

I’m embarrassed. This recipe has been starred in my Google Reader for … um… 7 months.

And every time I dig into the depths of my starred items, I see it and think, “I really have to get around to making this!” Folks, the day has come! And dare I say, they were worth the wait? Much more appropriate for July with a cold beer than December and hot cocoa, anyway. Am I right?

280

I also finally got around to using my bottle of KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce Southern Style, courtesy of Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program. Yeah, I cheated and used bottled BBQ sauce but Sues said I could!

197

Blackened BBQ Chicken Tacos

Chicken:

• 1 T chile powder
• 1 T oregano
• 1/2 T brown sugar
• 1/2 T smoked paprika
• 1 t cayenne pepper
• 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

For Assembly:

• 1 T canola oil
• 1 medium onion, cut into strips
• 8 corn tortillas, warmed
• 6 oz. goat cheese, crumbled

Mix together the chile powder, oregano, brown sugar, paprika, cayenne pepper, in a small dish. Rub on chicken breasts.

153

Over indirect heat, grill chicken, flipping once, until internal temperature hits 165*, about 30 minutes.

209

Chop the cooked chicken into bite-sized pieces.

237

Toss chicken with 1/2 cup BBQ sauce.

275

Assemble tacos with chicken, goat cheese, and onion. Garnish with cilantro.

261

And devour. The flavor was fantastic. And the chicken made an excellent salad topper the next day.

249

7 Responses

  1. Looks so yummy Leah!

  2. These look great! All the flavors together in a taco – yum!

  3. What a great recipe!! I have go to try these!

  4. this looks fast…and very, very delicious! Theresa

  5. Quick and delish! Just the way I like it….looks so yummy!

  6. Looks absolutely stunning and delicious! I would be all over these tacos!!

  7. Looks pretty good…this will definitely thrill your taste buds!

Leave a Reply

