Transplanting the Garden

The day we found out that we were going to have to move was pretty devastating. My head swirled with “what if’s” and “how’s” and “why’s” but the most dumbfounding thing to me was that the owners of our home had just weeks before given us the go-ahead to install a raised garden bed. I guess that goes to show you how unexpected this move was for not only us, but also for them.

I kept saying, “But what about the garden?” We had just literally finished it and was starting to see cute little sprouts of green cropping up.

image

We went over our options and decided to just let the raised garden box be. It wasn’t worth the energy to transplant the seedlings, remove all the soil, disassemble the box, and reinstall and refill it in a new house where, again, there is absolutely no guarantee how long we will stay there.

So we turned to pots.

004

We ended up getting four 30” plastic planters from Lowe’s for $9 each. To prep them for use, Huz drilled eight holes in the bottom of each planter for drainage.

010

I added one shallow layer of gravel (that we commandeered from our garage) and then added a layer of soil. I knew I wanted to get a couple of pots so we saved our extra soil in a large trashcan and it certainly came in handy!

016

I wasn’t too worried about transplanting the herbs – they were decently sized and I’ve been clipping at them for a few weeks already. I just made sure to get as much soil around them as I could before hoisting them over into our planters.

014

My seedlings were my biggest concern and I’m still not sure if they are going to make it. My onion, cilantro, and arugula were just starting to come into their own. I also had one lone chard and two tiny kale that have been fighting the wildlife for survival.

029

While digging up my garden, I managed to find one little squash leaf just under the soil! I squealed in delight! I was sure that they had all been eaten already! I obviously don’t have a green thumb. I ended up planting a few more seeds since I was in there already.

Everything was a little wilty after the transplant. I gave them all a good douse of water, a sprinkle of plant food, and lots of happy sunshine.

023

While I was at it, I decided to move the very sad looking basil to a smaller pot of its own so I can monitor it a bit better. It’s still been getting chilly at night so I’m hoping that nights indoors will help revive it.

030

And in other news, I’m pretty sure that one of my mint plants drowned.

033

I’m actually pretty excited for the new pots. We’re going to be putting them on our big deck at the new house so hopefully that will deter wildlife from attacking my beautiful greens.

And with that, poor garden bed, may you RIP. Or at least surprise the owners with some squash or greens.

2 Responses

  1. It looks like a smart way to transplant. I hope they don’t die before you can move and replant them!

  2. I hope everything goes well. We have raised flower beds and I would be very sad to say goodbye to my veggies.

Leave a Reply

