CSA Weekly

050

Picking up my bag of goodies at the farm today was interesting. There appeared to be an orphanage (?) on a tour and the parking lot was packed to the gills with vans! Usually I’m lucky if I see another person picking up their goods at exactly the same time as me!

082

I always have a friendly chat with one of the owners and get sent on my way. Today, I was informed that they are going to have beef and chickens coming available to order! I am definitely penciling us in for the next batch of chickens but I think I’ll hold off on the 50 pounds of beef for the moment.

078

This week got some really fun new things in the bag! It is seriously like Christmas morning everyday Tuesday evening as I pull produce, smudged with dirt, out of my small CSA bag.

Oregano

074

Rutabaga

059

Snap Peas

063

Radishes

068

And our old friends – lots of greens and garlic scapes – made an appearance.

So far, we are making great use of all the CSA goods. I made another batch of carrot greens pesto again tonight with the last bunch of greens and some scapes and I added the radish greens to it as well. I also prepped a bunch of greens for a mondo salad per usual. The only thing I’ve neglected were the last couple batches of beet greens, mostly because I didn’t have enough to make a legit side dish out of them and I didn’t know what else to do so they sat there, in the crisper, getting wilty and yellow. And today, they ended up in the garbage.

We will meet again, oh beet greens.

3 Responses

  1. Your CSA baskets remind me of chopped, only you have a whole week to use up your treats. Ryan is totally sold on garlic greens and we haven’t found any here yet…thanks.

  2. Looks fantastic! I have never done anything with the greens of vegetables before, I’ve always just chucked them in the compost bin.

    I might have to give pesto a whirl…you know for just a little change of pace.

  3. I am so jealous of the snap peas. They are one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

