Carrot Greens Pesto

032

With the past couple of weeks CSA’s, we’ve been getting carrot bunches with greens that go on for days. It seemed silly to just toss the tops – they are completely edible. One of my faboosh readers directed me towards a pesto recipe and I didn’t bother clicking on it, I knew I was going to create it myself.

For some reason, I find pesto to be an extremely personal thing. Or maybe that’s just me. I don’t like nuts in mine, I like lots of garlic, and minimal parmesan. To each their own. Here’s what I came up with!

Garlicky Carrot Greens Pesto

1 bunch carrot greens, washed, and loosely chopped
3 garlic scapes (~5 cloves of garlic equivalent)
2 garlic greens (or 1 bunch green onion)
2 Tbls grated parmesan cheese
1 Tbls lemon juice
1/2 cup olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and puree until smooth.

028

I served it fresh – dollop on wild salmon with pasta tossed in a bit more pesto and pasta water. It made a couple of cups worth so it’ll be incorporated in many meals to come! Naturally, it is missing the sweet basil flavor but I love the earthy taste that the carrot greens give it and I can sleep well knowing my dear carrot tops didn’t go to waste.

Except I know I’ll be getting more and more carrot greens and there’s only so much pesto a girl can eat so keep the ideas coming!

3 Responses

  1. I love pesto and your recipe. What a great way to use up the ends of the carrots. I buzzed you and bookmarked this.

  2. What a great idea!! I always feel bad throwing out the carrot greens. I know beet greens are fantastic sauteed with garlic and the beets themselves – maybe something similar with the carrot greens? (boring idea, I know)

  3. […] Garlicky Carrot Greens Pesto […]

Leave a Reply

