Mushroom Gravy

013

I’ve never been much of a sauce maker but I have always had an appreciation for them – especially since I don’t make them. They were always considered a special treat in my eyes. And probably rightfully so as many of them are butter laden. And while I have a long standing love affair with butter, my waistline does not.

But while my little brother was visiting, for whatever reason I got the hankering to try a classic mushroom gravy. I followed this recipe basically and served it over pork chops for the boys and chicken for me with a heaping pile of roasted veggies that sopped up the remnants.

And oh. my. word. was it good! I must make gravy a more regular occurrence in this household! Especially because it was stupid easy!

Mushroom Gravy

Ingredients

    • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 2 cups thinly sliced mushrooms ( 8 ounces)
    • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
    • 2 cups chicken stock (beef or vegetable would also work well)
    • 1/4 cup white wine (I would use red with beef probably)
    • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
    • fresh ground black pepper (lots!)

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a medium-size saucepan over medium heat. Add the mushrooms and sauté until brown, about 7 minutes. Stir in the flour; it will become very pasty. Cook this roux for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. It will stick to the bottom of the pan a little bit; that’s okay.
  2. Stir in the stock, wine, soy sauce, and pepper, and bring to a boil. Cook the sauce at a lively simmer for 5 minutes, stirring almost constantly and scraping any crusty bits that adhere to the bottom of the pan.

016

I really wanted to call this post, “It’s All Gravy, Baby” but things are not, in fact, all gravy.

Earlier this week, my dear friend and fellow blogger, Susan got some really devastating news and I’m totally heartbroken about it. My thoughts and all the good juju I can muster and sending it her way. I ask you to do the same.

3 Responses

  1. I like gravy a lot but not a fan of mushrooms. I would totally make this sans ‘shroom. 🙂

  2. I LOVE mushroom gravy. Lovelovelove. It’s especially good used in poutine. I’m bookmarking this for when I’m released, it should be easy enough for me to attempt. Not sure what my cravings will be like on chemo, but I will probably want some home cookin’ 😉

    xoxoxoxo

  3. I am not much of a gravy person, normally. But I love mushroom, and this looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

