Thai Coconut Chicken Soup

005

I’m obsessed with Thai food lately. I’ve had Thai take out like 3 times in the last month and made it a couple times at home; I just adore the flavors. I’m even finding myself longing for the unique flavor of fish sauce. I keep looking for ways to use up my bottle!

014

Thai Coconut Chicken Soup

Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients
  • 2 cups chopped chicken (I used leftover whole roasted chicken)
  • 1 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 (14 ounce) cans lite coconut milk
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root
  • 1/4 cup fish sauce
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (scant!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric (more for a more vibrant color)
  • 2 Tbls minced sweet onion
  • 1 stalk garlic green, sliced (or bunch of green onions)
  • 3 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro for garnish
Directions
  1. In a large soup pot, over medium heat, heat oil. Sauté onion for 3 minutes. Add coconut milk and broth to a boil. Reduce heat. Add chicken, ginger, fish sauce, lime juice, cayenne powder and turmeric. Simmer until heated through, 10 minutes.
  2. Stir in garlic greens and garnish with fresh cilantro and serve steaming hot.

022

The flavor of this soup was impeccable! It had depth to it and using leftover roasted chicken added more layers of flavor. It was just spicy enough, though I caution you to adjust the heat as necessary for your palette.

I could easily see mushrooms being subbed out for the chicken, using vegetable broth, and omitting the fish sauce and still having a delicious vegan soup on your hands. Having issues with dairy, I’m finding that coconut milk, even the lite variety, is my non-dairy milk of preference – sweet or savory dishes alike!

4 Responses

  1. Yum, that looks awesome- I love Thai food, too!

  2. This soup sounds delish. I love coconut Thai soups- I must try soon!!

  3. This looks delicious! I love Thai food and I love coconut milk so I am sooooo going to have to try this soup.

  4. Looks great! I usually make this when it’s time to use up mushrooms and carrots. It took me awhile to start using fish sauce and now I can’t go back! Kudos for looking for more ways to use it!

Leave a Reply

