CSA Weekly

Tuesdays are becoming a day to look forward to!

061

Yesterday after work, I picked up our bag o’ goodies from the farm, narrowly avoiding chickens and ducks as I made my way slowly down their drive. One day, I’ll take pictures for you. It’s an adorable little family farm.

066

In this week’s bag:

Assorted greens – chard, baby kale, rhubarb greens (I think?)
Carrots (Can I do anything with the crazy carrot greens?)
Baby beets
Garlic greens (Which are totally awesome and we definitely got extra at the Farmer’s Market this past weekend! Look for a recipe soon!)

075

I’ve already washed and torn up all the greens and am looking forward to having a massive salad for lunch this afternoon! I also envision roasted carrots and beets in our future!

071

3 Responses

  1. That all looks soooo good! And, yes, you can do stuff with the greens: carrot top pesto: http://agrigirl.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/using-greens-and-carrot-tops-in-cooking/
    And I just posted today about other things to do with greens: http://bit.ly/jRTcE0 Now I want a big bowl of greens 🙂

  2. What CSA do you go through? I’ve been getting stuff from Full Circle Farms since March, but I don’t plan on continuing with them after my subscription runs out. Also, which farmers market do you usually go to? I’ve checked out the Bremerton fm, but they don’t seem to have too much in the way of produce. Do you know if the Silverdale or Poulsbo markets are any better?

    • We go through “Abundantly Green” in Poulsbo (Brownsville area). It’s our first year and we are only two weeks in so I don’t have an opinion on them really yet but they are very nice people and the price was very reasonable, especially with the “early bird” discount we signed up for. Poulsbo is our favorite Farmer’s Market. Silverdale’s is tiny and in the middle of the week but they have Monica’s Cafe there which I love. We still want to check out Port Orchard’s one of these days but haven’t gotten around to it. We also love Port Townsend’s FM but that’s an hour away. And sometimes, making the ferry trip over to Edmonds is worth it for theirs if you make a day of it.

Leave a Reply

