Sole with Lemon Butter Sauce

029

The week before Ryan arrived for his 2-week stay with us, I did my due diligence and asked him what he liked, didn’t like, and what he wanted the fridge stocked with. Besides a Costco-size case of yogurt, he requested seafood.

You see, seafood in Montana isn’t exactly the freshest.

I wanted to be a good sister and fulfill this one request but we are also currently broke. Broke, broke. With the impending move, we had to double up on rent for July, put up a deposit before getting the one from this place back, and of course, there is always unforeseen expenses with moving, even if it is just 3 miles down the road. Our savings account is currently at an all time low and let’s not even get into the shape of our checking account.

So I compromised. I’ll make seafood, good seafood, with cheap fish. Sorry, no shrimp or lobster in the house. We’re a sole and cod kind of family. (We did make sure that he loaded up on as much seafood as he could muster when we went to a buffet with family last weekend. Though, I’m leery of the words seafood and buffet together in the same sentence.)

007

Sole with Lemon Butter Sauce

1.5 pounds sole filets
fresh ground salt and pepper
2
Tbls butter, divided
1 Tbls olive oil
1/3 c white wine
2 small lemons (or 1 large), juiced and zested
1/4 tsp fresh thyme leaves (oregano would also work well)

Salt (lightly!) and pepper (heavily!) the filets. In a heavy bottom skillet over medium-high heat, heat 1 Tbls butter and olive oil. Sauté filets, in batches if necessary, for 3-5 minutes until lightly browned, gently flipping once. Sole is very thin and delicate so be careful!

Remove cooked filets and transfer to a baking sheet. Keep in a warmed oven (200* is fine) while you make the sauce.

In the same pan that you made the fish in, deglaze with white wine. Stir in remaining butter, lemon zest, and lemon juice and reduce until about 1/4 cup of sauce remains.

Drizzle sauce over the filets and sprinkle with thyme.

020

I love all things lemon and this sauce was stupid easy to make so we had a win-win. If you don’t like a strong lemon flavor, only use 1 small lemon and add a bit more white wine to make up for the lack of lemon juice.

013

I served the sole with sautéed asparagus and quinoa cooked in vegetable broth that gave it a vibrant orange color. Ryan said he hadn’t had quinoa before and really liked it – better than couscous – and politely asked that I inform Mom about it. So, Mom, consider yourself informed.

034

I could eat this meal every night of the week and be happy.

I might just do that.

044

6 Responses

  1. Glad you went to the extra effort to prepare this fish-even though it was not the expensive kind. I’ll bet no one knew it was “cheap fish”-good meals do not always have to be expensive! This looks delicious-thanks for sharing.

  2. We also love fish and try to have it as much as we can. It is more expensive than meat most of the time. I just try to buy what’s in season or on special. That sole with the quinoa and asparagus looks so great. I can almost taste the lemon on the sole as I read. Love it.

  3. Great dinner, even on a budget!

  4. That is a delicious meal!! I looove the butter sauce!

  5. My house isn’t a shrimp and lobster kind of house either, thanks for making a delicious dish with something I can afford!

  6. This is my kind of food, making me very hungry reading this. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

