Chickpeas with Chard and Pan-roasted Tomatoes

105

I’m almost embarrassed about how long I’ve had this recipe bookmarked.

Almost.

Until I realize how many more I have bookmarked that have been waiting for me to get around to them even longer.

099

Chickpeas with Chard and Pan-roasted Tomatoes

• 1 tablespoon olive oil
• 8 roma tomatoes, halved lengthwise
• 8-10 cups chopped chard (I used a mix of chard and kale)

• 1/2 cup golden raisins
• 4 cloves garlic, minced
• salt and black pepper (lots!)
• 2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, rinsed
• 1/4 cup lemon juice

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and add halved tomatoes, cut side down. Brown the tomatoes nicely until they start to soften, about 3-5 minutes. Briefly brown on the opposite side for about a minute. Remove tomatoes from pan and transfer to a plate.

In the same skillet, add the chard, raisins, garlic, 2 tablespoons of water, salt and pepper to taste. Cook until the chard begins to wilt, about 3-5 minutes.

Serve chickpea mixture over rice and top with roasted tomatoes.

Serves 4

071

I had really high hopes for this recipe – We Are Not Martha never fail to let me down – but alas, this one fell a bit short and oh how I wish I could say that it was worth the wait to get around to making it. I was excited that the key flavors were lemon juice and garlic but they were hidden by the greens completely. The golden raisins were a nice, sweet touch and I enjoyed the tomato but overall, the dish was very bland and required a decent amount of pepper. I do want to play around with the pan roasted tomatoes a bit more; I think they have the potential to be a part of an exceptional dish.

091

2 Responses

  1. It sure does look very pretty!!!

  2. Looks yummy and healthy! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

