Jalapeno Sweet Potato Chowder

005

Last night, we totally rocked out at a concert and got in pretty late. I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap but in the meantime, here’s a super delicious soup I cooked up last week.

And it came from the strangest place: the Costco case of sweet potatoes. And after a few tweaks, it was faboosh.

022017

Jalapeno Sweet Potato Chowder

Ingredients

2 extra large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
2 tbls olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 quart chicken stock
2 cups vegetable stock
1 1/2 cups chopped chicken (leftover from our Anniversary dinner!)
1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernals
2 jalapenos, chopped
1 tsp salt
chives for garnish

Directions

In a large stock pot, heat oil over medium heat. Sauté onion until translucent, about 6-8 minutes. Add stock and sweet potatoes and boil until potatoes are soft.

Using a stick blender, puree until smooth. Stir in remaining ingredients and heat through, about 15-20 minutes.

Garnish with chopped chives.

Makes 4 2-cup servings.

011

6 Responses

  1. This looks delicious. Can’t wait to try it!

  2. First off this sounds amazing. I can not wait to try it. And second….I heard U2 was amazing. (I’m in Seattle as well, and was at the Mariners game when U2 was rehearsing.)

  3. This looks great! I love making big batches of soup and freezing them for leftovers – perfect food!

  4. This sounds so unique and delicious! You had me at jalapeno =)

  5. Looks beautiful! I love the kick of the peppers in it.

  6. Oh yum! I’m a soup lover from way back. I especially love the flavour of sweet potatoes. Paired with the heat from jalapenos and I’ll definitely be making this soup! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

