Chana Masala

132

I’m no stranger to Indian cuisine and while I’ve made numerous chickpea dishes, I’ve never actually made traditional chana masala.

118

I decided to follow a highly rated Smitten Kitchen recipe. It turned out famously. I almost made it again for dinner last night until I decided that grilled cheese and tomato soup sounded better.

168

Chana Masala

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 medium onions, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 teaspoons minced ginger
1 teaspoon ground coriander
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon (scant) ground cayenne pepper (I used a quarter of this because my cayenne is extremely hot)
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 teaspoons cumin seeds, toasted and ground
2 teaspoons coriander seeds, ground
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes with their juices
2 (15-ounce) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 lemon juiced

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add onion, garlic, ginger and pepper and sauté over medium heat until browned, about 5 minutes. Turn heat down to medium-low and add the coriander, cumin, cayenne, turmeric, cumin seeds, amchoor (if using it), paprika and garam masala. Cook onion mixture with spiced for a minute or two, then add the tomatoes and any accumulated juices, scraping up any bits that have stuck to the pan. Add the water and chickpeas. Simmer uncovered for 10 minutes, then stir in salt and lemon juice.

2 Responses

  1. Wow, it looks fantastic. I’ll bet the aroma in the kitchen was enough to make you hyperventilate. Grilled cheese is sometimes a necessity.

  2. I love chickpeas and anything with curry and spices. This dish is my kind of comfort food. Great Job!!

Leave a Reply

