Caribbean Rice and Beans with Greens

124

Confession: I made this almost two weeks ago and just haven’t gotten around to sharing it.

Confession: It was so satisfying that I actually considered making it again just so it would be fresh on my mind.

Confession: The only reason I didn’t make it again is because I’m fresh out of greens at the moment.

115

Caribbean Rice and Beans with Greens

Modified from this Happy Herbivore recipe.

Ingredients

    1 T olive oil
    1/4 c chopped sweet onion
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    1/2 large bell pepper, minced
    1.5 c basmati rice (dry)
    2 c vegetable broth
    1 c lite coconut milk
    1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
    1 can diced tomatoes, drained
    1 16-ounce bag frozen chopped mustard greens
    1 tsp fresh minced ginger
    2 tsp hot sauce
    2 T ketchup
    2 tsp Jamaican Jerk seasoning
    1 tsp fresh thyme
    1/2 c fresh chopped cilantro

Directions

In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Sauté onion, garlic, and bell peppers for 1 minute. Stir in broth and bring to a boil. Add rice and coconut milk and reduce to medium-low. Add the remaining ingredients except the cilantro and stir well. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

Once rice is tender, stir in cilantro and serve.

Serving Size: 2.5 cups
Number of Servings: 4
Nutrition

132

Oh, one-pot-wonders, how I love thee.

3 Responses

  1. Okay, this looks really good! I think I’ll make it this weekend, I’m going to substitute frozen chopped spinach for the greens (cuz that’s what I have).

  2. I will eat ANYTHING with cilantro on top. Seriously. Kraft Dinner? Cilantroed. Can do.

    BUT this looks SO good. I like to make a mexican-y version whenever we make soft tacos. Spanish rice + beans + cilantro + lime, jalapeno if I’ve got it.

  3. One of my favorites! Nice addition of the spinach.

Leave a Reply

