Turn That Frown Upside Down

Thanks for putting up with my rant about moving and being so supportive – reason #2,652 that I love this community. We (Husband and I) have had long conversations the past few days about what the next couple months are going to look like and how we’re going to tackle this project so I am feeling a tiny bit better about it. I’m just not looking forward to the unsettled feeling I know I’m going to have for the next 3-6 months. But I’m trying to look at the positives and hoping that this will turn into a good opportunity for us.

It seems very apropos to share a recent tribulation in the kitchen that got turned into a “win,” but only after a minor Leah-meltdown first.

059

Gnocchi. Gawd, I love the stuff. Dough pillows. Melt-in-your-mouth-good. But apparently only as good as your potatoes.

I attempted this recipe while searching for a dairy free (read: vegan) gnocchi that I could easily use my spelt flour for in place of regular flour to make it Leah-friendly. (I’ve been needing my gnocchi fix ever since drafting my Top Ten post!)

I should have known better. Looking at those sad little potatoes I used. Covered in eyes. A little soft. Definitely on the older side. But oh, how I wanted gnocchi and oh, how I didn’t want to venture out to the grocery store.

I should have known better.

058

The potatoes would not get smooth for the life of them. But I tried anyway. I really should have stopped at this point. But I forged along. And not only were they terribly ugly little gnocchi’s, they were also disgusting.

And into the garbage they went.

And I had already made the thyme vinaigrette and lemon cashew cream to go with them.

053

Quick thinking on my feet, I just ended up resorting to regular (spelt) spaghetti noodles that we had in the pantry. While they were boiling, I scurried around the kitchen trying to figure out a way to get it a little more substance.

094

Sliced garlic, asparagus, and halved grape tomatoes along with the vinaigrette went in with the cooked noodles. A drizzle of the (thick) lemon cashew cream on top.

064

That’ll do.

073

And ‘do’ it did! It was a nice, light, refreshing pasta dish and the lemon cashew cream is certainly a win. I even recreated this a couple nights ago, in a manner of speaking. With oregano, instead of thyme. And the lemon cashew cream just mixed in with the noodles. And the tomatoes roasted with some oil. And a few capers thrown in for good measure.

And it was divine. Even though our world had just been shattered by the recent news.

There is always good food.

080

4 Responses

  1. That looks so delish Leah!!! Everything will work out for you guys – stay positive!

  2. Oh Leah, nice try to save the taters…too bad it didn’t work out…I too love the pillowy goodness that is gnocchi!! The spelt spaghetti save looks and sounds fabulous! Way to came back for the win!!

  3. Nice recovery! I wonder if you microwaved the non smooth potatoes it would cook them a lil more, make them smooshier?

    I don’t have a microwave so I couldn’t test it out. 😛

  4. Love when you can play McGuiver in the kitchen! Looks good! Good luck with the next few months!

Leave a Reply

