“On The Road Again”

Yesterday, we had some pretty disheartening news. We found out we won’t be able to renew the lease on our current house.

We are being forced to move again. For the fourth time in four years. It seems like life is just throwing us one thing right after another. As soon as I get comfortable and get in a groove, psyche! Here’s another curveball!

We were really hoping that this time, oh this time, we’d be able to camp out here for a few years. We don’t want to move. We love our house (most days). And we don’t mind the neighborhood.

I feel like I got punched in the gut. This new stress is beating down on me/us pretty hard. I spent most of my day going back and forth via email with our landlady and the owners trying to figure out if we’d even be able to stay through the duration of our lease.

And what do we do about the vegetable/herb garden we just planted? Do we need to disassemble and re-sod? Do we leave it? Do I try and transplant everything to pots that we can take with us? There is a couple hundred bucks and a few hours of labor and love down the toilet.

Are we going to be able to find another house that meets all of our needs in our price range? We have to have a fenced in yard. And a sliding glass door for Pip’s doggy door. And obviously it needs to be a pet friendly place. This is a non-negotiable. She’s our baby. (Yes, I’m one of those people.)

Do we take advantage of this to try to downsize and save money to pay shit off? Will we even be able to and still have a yard and not live in the ghetto? (Yes, there is actually a super sketchy part of town in Kitsap County.) Mostly I just pray we don’t have to increase our rent and/or utility costs to get a decent place.

We really should start working on getting rid of stuff. Purging. Organizing. Maybe even packing? And just hope we have somewhere to move to?

And let’s not get into the cost of moving and having to come up with another security deposit. There goes any savings that we had set aside for a trip later this year. Oh joy.
I hate house hunting. At least it is local this time and we don’t have to cross a span of water and cram as many viewings in as possible into our off Friday. Silver lining, right?

And I know we won’t be able to find anything like our house now. The skylights. The flooring. The vaulted ceiling. The red accent wall. Gas fireplace. Yoga room.
Oh yeah, and all of this is in the midst of an upcoming 2-week visit from my kid brother and training for my first half marathon. And coming off of a couple steep and unexpected bills. Oh the joys.

I make no promises about the next couple months of cooking and blogging. Right now, I feel like the life has been sucked out of me. I’m trying not to panic. It will all work out. It has to.

9 Responses

  1. Oh that really sucks! I’m sorry. 😦 I hope you can find a decent place with a yard. I’d be bummed about the garden after all the work you did. (Considering I’ve just spent so much time, energy & money on my garden! Ack!)

  2. Hugs! This is a good time for you to consider to move down to San Diego (ok…not really funny…)

  3. I am so sorry that you have to go through this. It’ll all work out, it always does. Big hugs, and I hope you find a new place that is better than this one! 🙂

  4. Ohhh bummer! Moving is the worst. I would definitely take this opportunity to purge though!! I love tossing/giving away huge piles of stuff we don’t use. So satisfying.

    I don’t know if buying a place is on your radar at all, but if it is, you might also take this as a chance to sock away some more for a down payment by living in a slightly less-than-ideal place for a year or two.

    Also, I would definitely encourage you to emphasize to potential landlords that you’re planning on sticking around for awhile. We have a rental property, and you’d be shocked at how hard it is to find stable, responsible tenants… Especially ones who take pride in a home they are “only” renting, which you obviously do. That’ll go a long way in getting a place you want.

    Good luck!

  5. Oh dear Leah! I would be bummed out too, especially about the garden……this coming from the lady that just planted 80 plants, so I can completely understand. Best wishes to you in finding a new place!!

  6. I am in a similar boat right now, so I understand your distress. 😦
    Just wanted to say I really enjoy your blog, and that these things have a way of working themselves out. Sending good house vibes your way.

  7. No fun! I went through a similar thing a few weeks ago when my landlord told me that I had exactly 6 days to find a roommate or I’d lose the place- luckily craigslist pulled through for me. You won’t get your security deposit back??

    • We may get our deposit back, but I’m not banking on it. We’ve gotten screwed in the past. And when we moved in here, the previous tenants left it thrashed and no inspection was done so I’m not holding my breath on this one.

  8. Ohnonono!! Awful, horrible news!!! I’d be super pissed. And probably cry. A few times.

    But if there’s one thing I know for sure, humans are capable of taking on a lot! I know it seems impossible, but you’ll get through this hellish time. Day by day. It will make you appreciate what you have so much more when it’s all over.

    Hey, maybe there’s an even better place out there (with an amazing garden and doggie door) and now is your chance to find it!

Leave a Reply

