Rhody Weekend 2011

So there is more to the Port Townsend Rhododendron Festival (affectionately called Rhody) than just the Rhody Run on Sunday morning. We went up Friday afternoon to partake in some festivities!

543

The drive up to Port Townsend is only an hour – it’s so nice having my dad that close! We’ve never been this close (physically and emotionally) and we are certainly taking advantage of it while it lasts.

015

Pippin LOVES going to visit Papa Bear. And she loves the drive up when it’s nice enough to have the windows down!

051

{Driving over Hood Canal Bridge}

I love the drive because it is pretty rural and a gorgeous landscape.

063132

And because we get to pass by my dream house. (Love the house, not the location!)

168

Super cute, am I right?

191

When we got in to town on Friday, Huz got his ears lowered hair cut then we headed up to Fort Warden to take advantage of the sunshine.

202285

We wore the pup out! I can’t wait until hiking season is in full swing!

234256

I used to come up here in the summers of my youth and drink beer hang out. Life’s a bit different now. And I wouldn’t have it any other way!

259305

(It’s impossible to get her to take a good family picture with the camera timer, apparently.)

After laying in the sun and counting hawks, we headed back down to catch up with my dad. (Haha, sucker had to work on Friday!)

423

We headed to our go-to bar/restaurant: Siren’s.

424

I’m really not one to go to the same places over and over again but there is just something about this town (and the lack of options) that I always find myself at the same three places.

And thanks to my diet, I find myself ordering the same few safe foods over and over again. Case in point: Siren’s shrimp tacos.

408

We decided this trip that the food really is mediocre. Which is sad because it used to be really good. Huz likes the pizza and atmosphere and Dad’s friend works there so I’m sure we’ll keep going back.

426

(We each won a game of cutthroat btw!)

We pounded the last of our beers and headed a block up to my favorite Rhody event: the bed races.

429

There are a bunch of rules and regulations that I don’t know but basically, it’s a team race to push someone on a bed the length of the street the fastest. Extra points for creativity and good humor!

450

The High School track team was the front runner. Until they got stuck pushing the fire truck bed and the Rhody Royalty kicked their asses. Muahahahaa!

463

Highly entertaining. I promise.

This guy is proof.

437

(People watching in Port Townsend is AWESOME at all times but especially during Rhody and Kinetics!)

Saturday is the Grand Parade.

535

I think there was over 100 participating groups this year.

541

The highlights? High school bands playing Lady Gaga and Michael Jackson.

555

And all the old cars.

548

Oh, and this guy.

601

The downside? (Besides the obvious gray weather…) A bird shat on my head.

636

No joke. It made me grumpus.

We did end up trying a new place for lunch: The Public House. It was overall a pretty disappointing meal which reminded me why we go to the same three places all the time.

It’s only redeeming factor was that they had crayons at the table.

503

Huz predicted his lunch.

505

A fine job, indeed!

517

And I drew a potential future weekend getaway to Coeur d’Alene, ID.

511

(I’m not even gonna bother sharing my super lame-o salad.)

My kept it low-key again on Saturday night in preparation for the Rhody Run. We grilled up an easy dinner at home and played gin rummy and watched Pawn Stars. I’m pretty sure we were in bed by 10am while Dad stayed out past midnight to party with the locals.

Sunday morning was of course the race (which didn’t start until 11am and I did not like waiting that long. Just made me more anxious.)

I had a nice breakfast of spelt toast with goat cheese and two HB eggs. That’s pretty much what I’ve been eating for my training runs and if it ain’t broke…

716

Post clean-up, we went to my fav Thai joint: Banana Leaf and had a much needed brewsky.

723720

And I ordered my favorite droolworthy Pumpkin Curry combo meal.

726

We headed back home to get some chores done and get in some much needed relaxing time before starting our week out. My knees did not like being in the car for an hour after running. They locked up when I got out. But other than that, I’m not really sore. The ball of my right foot is tender but that’s been a reoccurring issue so in general, I feel really good.

Which is fantastic because I’m in full fledged 1/2 Marathon training now and have an 8 miler next week on the books!

8 Responses

  1. Seeing those photos of Fort Warden and Port Townsend remind me of my childhood. What a fun day!

  2. That festival looks like so much fun! I love random activities/parades like that. And such pretty scenery!

  3. ahahaha I LOVE THE TABLE ARTWORK! That cracked me up! It looks like you had the best time ever. Of course, the pup pics are my favorite. I have a ChuckIt, but since my lab died, I have nobody to use it on! Penny and Randy don’t fetch…

  4. It’s supposed to be good luck if a bird poohs on you – still – ugh!!!!

  5. Hmmm, many moons ago when I was actually part of the Rhody Parade a bird shat on my shoulder…makes you want to cry…in anger!

  6. Looks like a fun weekend all around (despite that dirty bird!). It is always nice to get away for a couple of days. Thank you for sharing.

  7. That pumpkin curry combo thinger looks great!

  8. I remember more than one bird-poop incident at Lakenheath, lol!

Leave a Reply

