Rhody Run 2011

Going into this race, I had three main objectives.

1) Don’t die.

010

Yes, it’s a bit dramatic, but it’s true. I really just wanted to survive this thing. I’m a self-proclaimed non-runner and a few months ago, the idea of even running a mile without stopping would give me an anxiety attack.

Spoiler Alert: I didn’t die.

2) Don’t get injured.

006

Basically, I wanted to train smart and run smart. I came up with a plan that had me only running three times a week and had me slowly increasing my mileage. For the most part, I warded off my plantar fasciitis and am only suffering from relatively minor bodily aches and annoyances.

My third goal I didn’t share really with anyone but my husband. Mostly because I didn’t want to embarrass myself if I didn’t make it.

3) Run 12k in less than 90 minutes.

dad pic 1

Guess what, ya’ll?

I did it.

013

I know that 12k isn’t necessarily a long race, especially in the world of healthy living bloggers that run marathons in their sleep. But it’s a huge deal for me. Like, massive.

I’ve never been a runner. Even when I did cross country in high school. I only did it to stay in shape for soccer season and I dreaded every minute of it. But I didn’t dread this. Well, not entirely anyway.

I dreaded the starting corral. Being in that close of proximity to over 2,000 people doesn’t really jive well with me.

008

I also dreaded Hastings hill.

image

The first time I ran Hastings, it took nearly 13 minutes. The second time I think took longer because it was tacked on the end of a 6-miler and I was wiped. But I owned that bitch in under 12 minutes this time.

And my Dad was parked at the top of the mile long hill which is right by his house.

dad pic 3

(Pictures jacked from his facebook – thanks, Pop!)

Gawd, I am dreading seeing the official race photos, by the way.

So anyway, here are my splits:

Mile 1: 10:50
Mile 2: 10:52
Mile 3: 11:56 <- Hastings Hill
Mile 4: 10:53
Mile 5: 10:33
Mile 6: 11:05
Mile 7: 11:33
Mile 7-7.48: 4:50

Overall pace: 11:04 (As opposed to my initial goal of 12:00 min/mi)

I’m really proud of myself. Really. I even got pretty emotional crossing the finish line.

But I didn’t love the whole experience.

It’s a small town race so there weren’t a ton of spectators and the ones that there were, they weren’t terribly vocal and there weren’t any fun signs. There was a Champagne station which is cool (we were on the other side of the road so we didn’t partake though). I think the overall energy of the race was just kind of low.

I also hate the shirts.

719

I don’t like that they are long sleeves, I don’t care for the material, and I hate the different logo from past years. Blech. And no medals which is whatevs. And the post-race food situation was mega lame and had a massive line so we just split. Headed to Dad’s for a shower then out to replenish our glycogen stores.

725

I’m glad that I did it. And I’d like to do it again next year now that  I know what to expect. I’m hoping that my next go around, my nerves are lessened and I don’t get as anxious.

Either way, I certainly couldn’t have done it without the Huz.

007

He trained with me for every single long run and many of my shorter runs. He gave me pep talks. He literally pushed me up demon hills. He’s made sure I stay hydrated. He’s been my total support system.

And he’s not stopping!

720

We are signed up to do the See Jane Run Seattle Half Marathon in July!

image

He’s planning on running it with me completely and all of the long runs even though he’s got a killer relay race planned for the following weekend that he needs to train for on his own as well. I think he only agreed because it’s going to be like 90% women running. At least, I’m pretty sure that’s my Dad’s reason for even considering crossing the water to spectate that race!

I’ve already mapped out a solid training plan for the next 8 weeks and I’m feeling confident.

Hopefully I don’t die.

12 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! Looks like a fun run. My two cousins did it too!

  2. Congrats!! Fantastic finish! You should be super proud of yourself … and you’ve got the racing bug! Can’t wait to read all about it!

  3. I’ve been WAITING for this recap post! I am so proud of you…it’s seeing the accomplishments of us “non-runners” that make me want to get back out there! Honestly, it’s so much more motivating than the “oh, I ran an easy 6-miler at 9-min pace” types. Oh and your time is awesome…I would have cried too!

  4. Hooray, congratulations! I’m glad to hear that it went so well- and what a supportive husband you have!

  5. Congrats!

    Told ya it was addictive. 😛

  6. congrats Leah!! That is so awesome!

  7. I knew you could do, your amazing!

  8. Congratulations! im quite jealous though! I can hardly run a minute outside without losing my breath, and if I try to run more than that my shins hate me for days! I agree the shirts have funny logos and odd colours haha.

  9. we camp at Ft. Worden every August for almost 2 weeks….its one of the nices state parks in WA!

  10. Congrats on the race! And good luck on your half, you’ll get a medal for that one!

  11. “Don’t die!” LOL … you are hilarious!!
    Congrats!!

  12. Way to go!!! I started running for the first time 3 years ago – I ran a half marathon 2 years ago, trained by hurt my knee for another half marathon last year, and this year – just taking it easy (maybe a half in the fall). Glad you are keeping it up!

Leave a Reply

