Gingered Chicken with Mango over Rice

118

I don’t know if you know this about me but I love mangos.

Like, a lot. And I ate them obsessively when we were in Mexico in 2008, then wept for days to discover they weren’t in season when we went last year. And all the mangos we got last year up here just plain sucked. I don’t know if it was just a bad year for mangos or not but they are back and back with a vengeance and fortunately for me, I’ve turned my father in to a mango-lover and he split a case with me last week.

110

I generally think of mangos in sweet dishes – like mango sorbet or fresh mango chunks on waffles with agave and shredded coconut (true story – I had that last Wednesday and it was amazeballs). And I’ve even seen them in a lot of Indian cuisine in the form of lassi or chutney.  I occasionally think of mangoes paired with spicy foods such as mixed in a salsa.

But for some reason, none of that sounded particularly interesting to use up the mangos that were quickly ripening on my kitchen counter. So I went for something that sounded completely different.

Gingered Chicken with Mango over Rice

Ingredients

    2 T olive oil
    2 cloves garlic
    2 chicken breasts, diced
    1 mango, peeled and chopped (about 1 cup of flesh)
    2 T brown sugar
    1 tsp soy sauce
    1 tsp ground ginger
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    1/8 tsp ground cloves

Directions

In a large pan, heat oil over medium heat. Sauté garlic briefly, until fragrant – about 1 minute. Stir in chicken breast, salt and pepper to taste. Cook through, about 10 minutes.

In a bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Once chicken is cooked through, stir mango mixture in with chicken and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 5-8 minutes.

Serve over 1 cup of white rice.

Serving Size: 2 cups
Number of Servings: 4
Nutrition

127

The cloves were actually the predominant flavor of this dish, not the ginger as the name implied but it was surprisingly welcomed. And while I would have liked to have a little bit of green in the dish, I was quite happy with the results. I think next time I would double the liquid ingredients just to get a bit of a saucier result.

114

I’m already looking forward to the next case of mangos! What’s your favorite mango recipe that I should give a try?

9 Responses

  1. I love mangoes, but don’t buy them very often! This looks great- I bet you could add some green bell peppers or snap peas for some green and it would be delicious! 🙂

  2. I’ve recently been obsessed with mango…using it a lot with curry or grilling it. mango and ginger just sounds amazing!

  3. THis looks awesome! I love that its a savory dish with mango. =)

  4. I’ve got a mango and chicken in the fridge! Is this recipe happening? I think so!

  5. YUM!! I do love this recipe, nice work

  6. Mangoes are great made any way. My problem is that when they are good, I can’t bear to cook them and have to just eat them raw.

  7. Often we can get Mangoes 10/$10 and I could make this dish several days a week with that kind of bargain.

  8. Rachael Ray has a recipe for pineapple-rum chicken, and I’ve subbed mango many a time – SUPER tasty, especially the heat from it! Just google 365 no repeats pineapple-rum chicken. It calls for rice, but I’ve subbed brown rice, wild rice and lentils with yummy results…

Leave a Reply

