Garden Update

So it has been a couple of weeks since we planted our seeds in our new raised garden box! Almost everyday, I would pop outside, donning my pink fuzzy slippers and mug of coffee in hand, checking on my babies.

image

After the first week or so, I was really biting my nails. There were these strange divots of dirt and I thought surely the birds had gotten to all my seeds. But alas, one chilly morning, I saw something.

241

Green! Sprouts!

243

Each day after that, it seemed another seeding would burst through the dirt.

238

The Kale, Collards, Chard, and Arugula are all showing signs of life. And even my Cilantro which may not fair well but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

235

The planted herbs are flourishing and it is almost time for me to start looking for recipes for my oregano and thyme.

223229

The chives are even looking like they might decide to bloom.

233

It will be awhile until I have enough dill to do something substantial but it was beautifully dew-kissed this morning.

227

We’ve only had one minor disaster.

218

My poor basil isn’t going to make it, I don’t think.

221

If it really doesn’t pull through, I might buy a couple more plants and keep pots for indoors because I really would love to have fresh basil to use. Mmm, pesto!

And in other news, we did buy some peppermint, but it hasn’t made it to a pot yet.

247

Buying a pot would help I suppose… In the meantime, I brightens up my kitchen windowsill.

7 Responses

  1. Looking good! I like how wide your planters are. Ours are long and narrow. I think wider might be better. Time will tell.

  2. I would love to have a garden once we move out of an apartment. I’m so jealous! Fresh veggies sound awesome.

  3. Aw I love your garden! It looks like you will have a nice variety of herbs and veggies. I can’t wait till I can have a garden one day too- my current apartment patio is crazy hot and everything just wilts away..

  4. Great job on the garden!! Looks beautiful!

  5. Love your garden bed! We had a major squirrel problem last year, but it seems that this year we’ve managed to keep them away!

    Everything is pretty much flourishing here… I’m really hoping I can finally get tomatoes to grow this year (I bought plants instead of seeds, so crossing my fingers!)

  6. Nice work! Basil is HARD to grow for me too. I don’t know why. My mom always had a ton growing when I was a kid, but I just can never seem to get it to thrive. I have some in pots this year, we’ll see how it does…

    Definitely put the mint in a pot, NOT in the ground. Unless you want mint EVERYWHERE. Which, there are worse things. Let’s just say that I haven’t had to plant any mint this year… and we’ll be drinking mojitos well into the fall…

Leave a Reply

