Sun Dried Tomato Pasta Bake

093

I could hardly wait to get my hands on the leftover Sun Dried Tomato Sauce! When I got home from work,  I sort of winged my way through this pasta dish and threw it in the oven before heading out on a quick run with the Huz. And it turned out really well. We pretty much moaned in delight all through dinner.

095

Sundried Tomato Pasta Bake

Ingredients

6 ounces pasta (measured dry), cooked to package instructions
3 chicken sausage links, chopped
2 bell peppers, halved and seeded
1/2 sweet onion, cut into 4ths
1/3 cup sun dried tomato sauce
1/2 cup shredded parmesan
fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Heat oven to broil. Line a cookie sheet with foil. Spread out onion, peppers, and sausage on cookie sheet and broil for 10 minutes or until peppers just start to blacken. Watch closely! Remove from onion and place peppers in a ziploc baggie to cool. (This is a good time to boil the noodles!)

Once the peppers are cool enough to handle, peel and dice. Chop up the onion in to bite size pieces. Combine cooked pasta, chicken sausage, onion, peppers, and tomato sauce and put in oven-safe dish (about 2-quart dish is fine). Season with fresh ground pepper and sprinkle with parmesan.

Bake at 350*, covered with foil, for 30 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

092

You could probably get away with not roasting everything first but I think it adds some depth to the dish. It blackens the chicken sausage a bit and roasted bell peppers are amazing in their own rite.

108

3 Responses

  1. OMG – you know I’m sucker for all of your recipes involving buffalo – but I swear – this might be LITERALLY the best recipe you’ve ever come up with! I’m drooling right now!

  2. All I need with this is a slice of crusty sourdough bread. Super delish!

  3. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I made this last night and we loved it. I made 2 mini casseroles because my husband prefers pork sausage and I’m allergic to pork.
    My sundried tomatoes must have been on the small size, because my sauce was really light. I just added 2T of tomato paste for some extra tomatoey-ness and it worked out great!
    I’m using some of the leftover sauce for homemade pizza tonight!

Leave a Reply

