Sun Dried Tomato Sauce Smothered Salmon

025

Mmmmm, husband picked a winner finding this recipe!

003

I told him that I wanted him to select a couple recipes from his new grilling book for us to make and I was actually really thrilled that he chose a sauce to work with. I really am not much of a sauce maker… I’m more of a one-pot-wonder lover. But I’ve been trying to reach outside my comfort zone a little bit more and this fell perfectly in to that category. Except it turned out to be ridiculously easy because shhhhh! There actually wasn’t any cooking involved – just my trusty food processor! And with Huz manning the grill, I had the easy part of the job.

Sun Dried Tomato Sauce

Adapted from Steven Raichlen’s book: Sauces, Rubs, and Marinade

Ingredients

    6 sun dried tomatoes
    1 cup boiling water
    1/2 cup oil
    3 cloves garlic
    2 T balsamic vinegar
    1 T lemon juice
    2 fresh basil leaves
    1/2 tsp kosher salt
    1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
    tiny pinch of sugar

Directions

Soak tomatoes in boiling water for 30 minutes. Drain and reserve 1/4 cup liquid.
Combine all ingredients, including reserved water, in a food processor and process until smooth.

Serving Size: makes 8 2-Tbls servings

008

Oh my heavens. How I love sun dried tomatoes! Make sure you don’t get the kind that are “packed in oil” though! You want the totally dehydrated kind that you can get on the cheap in the bulk bin section of the grocery store (if you are so lucky).

031

This was great on the (perfectly cooked) salmon but I can also see this paired up with a white fish or chicken. Come back tomorrow to find out what I did with the remaining sauce – it was to die for.

015

6 Responses

  1. Yum, I LOVE sundried tomatoes. And I also love no-cook sauces. Looks awesome with salmon, too. I need more salmon in my life. 🙂

  2. This looks delicious! I love salmon and eat it a lot so I am always looking for new recipes to enjoy my fish.

  3. Looks amazing! I adore sun-dried tomatoes too. Throw in my other favourites (fresh basil, balsamic AND salmon) and I definitely have to make this!

  4. That looks delish! I can’t wait to try it:)

  5. YUM, I bet that is SO delicious. Thank you very much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

