Slow Cooked Pulled Buffalo Chicken

014

After seeing this recipe crop up on Foodbuzz, I knew I was going to make it. Of course, I had to adjust the recipe a bit to fit my diet but I think I pulled it off!

Hubs ate it sandwich style with pepperjack.

025

Crockpot Buffalo Chicken

Ingredients

    1/2 cup chicken broth
    1/2 cup BBQ sauce
    1/2 cup hot sauce
    2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a crockpot. Simmer on high for at least two hours. Shred chicken with fork.

001

The original recipe called for mixing ranch in the crock but I decided to keep it separate just because I wanted to give a dairy-free ranch a try and I wasn’t sure how that would hold up in the crock. I also added too much chicken broth because I’m paranoid about my crockpot burning everything but I’ve adjusted the recipe above to what I think will work.

Dairy Free Ranch Dressing

Ingredients

    1/2 cup raw cashews
    1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
    3 T nutritional yeast
    1 T minced garlic
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp fresh ground pepper
    1 tsp italian seasoning
    1 tsp lemon juice

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.
Serving Size: Makes 8 2-Tbls servings

011

Lordy was this dressing good. And even better – I still have a bunch leftover!

040

The shredded buffalo chicken made a delicious salad topping for me and it is so easy, it’s something I think I’d like to have on hand regularly for quick, easy meals!

7 Responses

  1. That dairy-free ranch looks AMAZING. I am a ranch fiend but really need to cut back on dairy. I bet it would be great with carrots. (My favorite healthy thing to pair with ranch)

  2. […] to tell us to go home early on Friday), I stopped at the grocery store to pick up the makings for this recipe.  Two hours later, M and I were eating a delicious dinner. Definitely check this recipe out if you […]

  3. mmm…This one looks great. Both my boys would also eat this sandwich style! Lovely!

  4. This looks so delicious. I’m also a huge fan of slow cooker meals and I could eat this for every meal!

  5. I made pulled buffalo chicken sandwiches in my slow cooker too last week!

  6. This sounds so good and I’d love to have this for lunch tomorrow.

  7. I would have never in my life guessed that the ranch dressing was dairy free just by looking at the picture. I love the idea of the slow cooked pork too, but 1/2 cup of hot sauce? Might have to cut that back for Dudette. 🙂

Leave a Reply

