New Rules of Lifting For Women: Stage 5

Wow, we’re really coming along, aren’t we? Just chugging along and really excited to mix it up with Stage 6.

Workout schedule:

image

image

(Click to enlarge!)

Stage 5A

4 sets of 4 reps

One-Armed DB Snatch 30#->35#

DB single-leg Romanian Deadlift (aka The Drinking Bird) 25# DB’s –> 30# DB’s
Barbell Bent-over Row 70# –> 85#

DB Single-Arm Overhead Squat 20#/10# –> 30#/15#
DB Incline Bench Press 25# DB’s –> 30# DB’s (with help getting them up)

Plank 60 sec –> 120 sec
Reverse Woodchop 40# –> 45#

Body Weight Matrix (24 squats, 24 alternating lunges, 24 alternating lunge jumps, 24 squat jumps) 2:16 –> 1:45

***

Stage 5B

4 sets of 4 reps

Barbell Romanian Deadlift/Bent-over Row 75# –> 95#

Partial Single-Leg Squat Bodyweight (BW) only
Wide Grip Lat Pulldown 105# –> 112.5#

Back Extension 25# –> 35#
YTWL’s 5# DB’s –> 8# DB’s

2 sets of 8 reps because 4/4 was annoying!

Swiss Ball Crunch 15#
Hip Flexion BW
Lateral Flexion BW

Prone Cobra 90sec –> 120sec

Stage 1 Recap

Stage 2 Recap

Stage 3 Recap

Stage 4 Recap

Stage 5 Calories

Average Daily Calorie Consumption: 1600-1800kcal
Average Weekly Calorie Burn: 2000-3600kcal

BODYWEIGHT:

Beginning program: 163
End Stage 1: 161
End Stage 2: 160
End Stage 3: 159.5
End Stage 4: 158.5
End Stage 5: 157 (!)

7 Responses

  1. Way to go on the loss! That’s awesome. Weight lifting is such a great way to lose weight. I wish I had started doing it sooner.

    • I actually think that my weight loss has accelerated now that I added running in to the mix but the strength training certainly helps.

  2. Wow, congrats on the results! I just ordered the book as I’m clueless in the weight room. I’m doing a half marathon in a couple of weeks and then I’d really like to ramp up my lifting from non-existent or once a week to something consistent.
    I know it takes time, but how long was it before you started to see a change in muscle tone? I think that will really help me stick with it, but I’m guessing that takes awhile!
    I know you don’t post daily eats anymore, but have you changed your diet (besides your allergies) since starting this program?

    • No real changes. I’m not following the program’s nutrition guide because I’m still carrying a deficit to lose weight. I think if I upped my protein and calories a bit, I’d probably see more muscle development. I definitely can feel the muscle more like in my arms but I don’t think there is any visual difference which is a little discouraging.

  3. Wow!! You’re doing great. I hope I’m seeing those kinds of results in a few months, too. I’m almost finished with Phase 1. My body fat has gone down but haven’t lost a lot of weight. Are you doing any cardio or other workouts in addition to the NROL4W sessions?

    • I am running 3x a week. If you look at my Calendar, I have all the workouts I do on there. During rest weeks, I generally like to get in a couple crosstrain sessions and a random yoga session thrown in here and there.

  4. Whoo! You are doing awesome..meanwhile.my weight is UP dammit, but I stopped counting calories for a few weeks so I think that’s why. back on that horse today….

Leave a Reply

