Another Weekend in PT

This past weekend, we headed up to Port Townsend for one amazing reason:

070

My Grandma Sue was visiting from the east coast! Yay! We haven’t seen her since August so it was really exciting to get to spend the weekend with her. It was also really great timing because her visit happened to include Dad’s Birthday and Mother’s Day so there was a lot to celebrate!

We went up on Friday morning and ripped out a hilly 6 mile run before getting down to the celebrating. Yep, that’s a PDR for me. Pretty epic. Two more weeks until the Rhody Run!

And there is nothing like my favorite Thai meal post-run!

image

The thing that I really love about my family is that we pretty much live for food. We live meal to meal and we’re always thinking about what sounds yum.

And I have no recollection of what we did between lunch and dinner. Maybe watch a movie? But it wasn’t important. Dinner was delicious. We decided to celebrate Cinco de Mayo a day late at El Sarape – Dad’s favorite Mexican joint.

001003006

And you can’t celebrate with a drink, right?

013016

Sangria for me and beer for the boys.

I got a sizzling platter of chicken fajitas and devoured most of it pretty easily. Runger, baby!

032

Saturday was a drizzly day.

052

We tromped around and did some thrift shopping but came up open handed. We even attempted the Medieval Festival but it was so epically lame that we didn’t get out of the car. We ended up hunkering down at the house and I shit you not counted change.

Yeah, you heard that right. We counted change.

Dad had buckets laying around the house. It ended up being over $700 worth! A plane ticket to Hawaii or Amsterdam, maybe? I’m sure I could fit in your suitcase, Pop!

For dinner, we braved the rain.

Well, Dad and Pip did, anyway.

041

(That picture makes me laugh.)

065

The spread included zucchini, portobello, pineapple, chicken, steak, and sweet potato. And wine, of course.

And a GIANT bowl of three different kinds of ice cream for dessert. My daddy spoils me rotten.

For Mother’s Day on Sunday, we met up with Grandma’s in-law-family at the new Bremerton Bar & Grill but the table of 13 was far too cramped and I was far too shy to pull out the camera. It was a lovely breakfast with good company. I am so grateful for the time that we got to spend together.

069

I can’t wait until the next visit but have no idea when that will be. Grandma Sue and Greg are moving from Maryland to Virginia this summer and we would love to plan a visit but I doubt it will be before next Spring.

And with that, I’ll leave you with some Hemi! (I can’t believe how much he has grown!!)

048

5 Responses

  1. I haven’t been to Port Townsend since I was 17. We used to go all the time because my parents had a cabin there. We’d spend weekends there a few times a month and my brother and I would ride our bikes and play outside. It was nice.

    I’d like to go back!

  2. Haha, is the dog pooping in that picture??! I love it. Nothing like Mexican food and a drink to celebrate right!

  3. Oh my gosh. Cutest cat ever.

  4. The Pippin picture makes me laugh too!

Leave a Reply

