The Best Of

Well, friends. This marks my 1,000th post! Epic, isn’t it? Only took me almost two years to get here and I’ve loved every minute of it.

I’ve morphed from a daily-eats poster to less life-casting and more recipes. Jodus has gone from boyfriend to fiancé to husband. We’ve moved from a dark townhome in Edmonds to an airy, skylight laden house in Bremerton. I’ve lost and gained and lost again the same 10 pounds.

One thing has remained constant.

I’ve eaten a lot of really really good food. And that became apparent when I spent a decent chunk of time last week updating my 200+ recipe page! Overwhelming, I know. So we’ve gone through and racked out brains and bellies for the best of the best, the crème de la crème.

And without further adieu, I present to you our

Top 10 Recipes

1) Sweet Potato Gnocchi

828

I’m licking my lips just thinking about this one. It was my first attempt at gnocchi and I hit it out of the park. The simple brown butter was perfection.

2) Bacon Mushroom Risotto

093

This combines my two loves: risotto and bacon. Can’t go wrong with that, right? Truth be told, this risotto ruined most other risottos for me – I hold them all to this standard.

3) Buffalo Chicken Casserole

315

As a die hard buffalo lover, I had really high hopes for this recipe and it was definitely a winner. It also happened to be my first attempt at making a non-cream based casserole and it worked out decently well.

4) Spaghetti Carbonara for One

Carbonara 002

This is actually an Eat Live Run recipe and it was so good, it needed to be included. And poor husband didn’t get a chance to try this one before I got my no-no list that sadly included my favorite food group: bacon.

5) Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken

147

And since we are on the subject of Jenna, this is another recipe I stole from her blog. Drool. That sauce was so drippy delicious.

6) Chile Roasted Carrots

image

One of my favorite ways to prepare carrots. I first made this at Thanksgiving a couple years back and they’ve been a regular ever since.

7) Chicken Tortilla Soup

027

I’m not one to make the same recipe multiple times as is but this is one that I find myself craving over and over again. And it’s a crockpot meal so it is ridiculously easy to make.

8) Spicy Sun-Dried Tomato Soup with White Beans & Swiss Chard

056

Last year, one of Jodus’ coworkers had brain surgery and we naturally offered to cook up something for her and her husband and a soup seemed like the best thing so I made her this soup that we had devoured a few weeks prior. She was so grateful and said it was the best meal they got amongst the prepared Costco foods and casseroles. Good thing I included the recipe when I sent it to her – it’s a favorite!

9) Southwestern Corn Pudding

029

This is a recipe I need to get my hands on again. Right now, it isn’t diet-friendly but it was so good and perfect for the upcoming BBQ season.

10) Gorgonzola and Apple Stuffed Pork Chops

blog 231

aka “The Best Pork Chops Ever” according to the Huz.

Sadly, most of these delicious Top Ten are things that I can’t indulge in right now without a lot of modifications but have no fear! I’ve been eating some pretty darn good stuff lately too.

What would be in your top ten?

10 Responses

  1. Wow! Youe mAKIN’ MW HUNGRY GIRL!

  2. I love the recap! Those sweet potato gnocchis look delicious.

  3. Congratulations! All of it looks divine, no surprise about the labor intensive gnocci being in the top spot! I still have to try making it myself. I do adore your carrots!

  4. I love this!! Bookmarked. I think I should probably go ahead and make all 10 of these. Your site is always one of my go-tos for supper ideas 🙂

  5. Congrats on 1,000 posts!! That’s so awesome! I love your best of recap! Looks great!

  6. Congrats on 1000 posts!! Here’s to a million more!

  7. Wow, 1,000 posts! Congratulations on such a wonderful achievement and here’s to many more. That sweet potato gnocchi looks very tasty, as do the others you posted.

  8. 1000 posts is amazing! Congrats on a great accomplishment. Thanks for reposting top 10, I see some stuff I want to make. =)

  9. Kudos to you and great Top 10. Here’s wishing you thousands more!

Leave a Reply

