HUZ IN THE KITCH: Grilled Chicken with Spicy Corn Relish

This time around, instead of cooping myself up in our kitchen, I wanted to think of an excuse to use my new-ish grill that the wife surprised me with for my last Birthday.

112

It’d be getting utilized more often if Spring would actually decide to arrive. The Seattle area just had a record setting cold April and finding a nice day to grill has not been easy, especially with all the rain that has made this region so famous. We are so ready for warm weather and sunshine! Who isn’t, really?

Speaking of dark, rainy days…I’d like to give a little shout out to Vitamin D supplements. This was our first full winter using them, and I’d like to think that they made a big difference. But nothing can beat the real thing, of course.

Anyways, on to dinner.

For motivation, I dug through the Barbecue! “Bible” (by author Steven Raichlen) that accompanied my birthday gift and found a Spicy Corn Relish I wanted to try. The book is loaded with all kinds of sauces, rubs, marinades, bastes, butters, glazes, and relishes. I’ve tended to gravitate towards marinades, rubs, and dry-seasoning and wanted to tackle something I’ve never tried before. This relish was just the thing.

155

Spicy Corn Relish

Ingredients:

    1 1/2 c. corn kernals
    1 T olive oil
    2 shallots, finely chopped
    1 clove garlic, minced
    2 tsp grated ginger
    2 jalapenos, seeded and finely chopped
    1 red bell pepper, stemmed, seeded. diced
    1 ripe tomato, peeled, seeded, diced
    1 T brown sugar
    2 T rice vinegar
    2 tsp sriracha
    1/2 tsp kosher salt
    1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
    3 T chopped peanuts
    3 T chopped cilantro

Directions:

Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add shallots, garlic, ginger, and jalapenos and cook until soft but not brown, about 3 minutes. Increase heat to high and add corn, bell pepper, and tomato. Cook until the vegetables most of the juices evaporate, 3-5 minutes.

Add sugar, vinegar, chili sauce, salt and pepper and cook until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in peanuts and cilantro and cook 1 minute. Adjust seasonings as necessary. Serve hot or room temperature. Will keep in fridge for 5 days.

Serving Size: Makes 4 1/2-cup servings
Number of Servings: 4

(Nutritionals here)

I started out by chopping the shallots & jalapenos and mincing the garlic (tripled the amount from the recipe, of course). 

081

092104

Once those went into the skillet, the wife jumped in to help me out (she just can’t resist, even on her night’s off). She helped by dicing the tomato and bell pepper, measuring out the frozen corn (fresh would’ve been better, but oh well), and even chopped up the fresh cilantro and peanuts. Geez, thanks Wifey!

105

Did I mention she even got the ginger, brown sugar, sriracha, and vinegar ready for me?

071

I think I was out grilling the chicken and playing with the dog.

118129

After we were done messin’ around, dinner was ready. The grilled chicken turned out beautifully, and the relish turned out even better.

143

165

Served over brown rice, with a side of gingered green beans.

167

Not bad at all. We both loved the flavor and thought it had just enough kick to it. Next time though, I’ll try to force Leah to stay on the couch with her feet up while I do all the work.

7 Responses

  1. Looks perfect for Cinco de Mayo!

    • Thanks again, MIL, for chipping in on the B-Day gift. I’m really looking forward to grilling frequently this summer. I still need to think of a good meal to use the smoker for….hmmmm.

  2. Great recipe and aren’t you a thoughtful HUZ!! And the pictures are very clear. Sometimes grilled chicken can dry out as soon as you take it off the grill. Yours looks very moist.

  3. Yum, that looks really good! I’m so ready for summer and barbecues….. now, how do I get my husband to write some of our posts? Great job!

  4. That’s looks wonderful!!

    Your dog is like mine, a vulture that wait for anything to DROP!

Leave a Reply

