Tunisian Chickpeas

026

So, this little guy has been hariss harassing me for years. Not lying.

001

You see, way back in the day, I can’t remember the details, maybe it was my birthday? Maybe it was that time I went to Montana to take care of my brother for a week? I can’t remember. Anyway, my mommy got me this fantastic basket full of different foodie items and this little can was in there.

And that was 3-4 years ago.

And I’ve moved 3-4 times since then.

And that little can has come with me every single time.

010

I was too scared to use it. I didn’t know what it was or what I was supposed to do with it.

But now it had become a challenge.

Every time I opened the pantry, it taunted me.

Well, little can of spicy paste, your day has come.

Tunisian Chickpeas

Ingredients

    2 Tbls olive oil
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    4 Tbls harissa paste (you may want to do this to taste!)
    2 15-ounce cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    1 15-ounce can of lite coconut milk, shaken very well
    2 roma tomatoes, diced
    1/4 cup chopped cilantro
    3 cups prepared basmati rice

Directions

In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic and harissa and stir well. Stir in chickpeas and coconut milk. Bring to a boil then simmer 10 minutes. Stir in tomato and cilantro just before serving.

Serve over rice.
Serving Size: 1 1/2 cup chickpeas with 3/4 cup rice
Nutrition (with rice)

013

I’m almost embarrassed by how ridiculously easy this recipe was but how amazing it turned out.

But a word of warning! The husband started hiccupping seconds after his first bite.

Yep, it is that spicy.  

017

Now. What do I do with the other half of the can of super spicy pepper paste?