An Untraditional Easter Dinner

Growing up, I was very much in to traditions. Ask my mother. I would have a hissy fit if she even thought about making anything other than lasagna on Christmas Eve and we had to have her honeyed peas on Thanksgiving or the holiday just wouldn’t be complete.

Well, this year, I just couldn’t get in the Easter spirit since I couldn’t have the traditional Easter Ham since it’s on my no-no list. We talked about doing a turkey or lamb or some other alternative but when it boiled right down to it, I was having a hissy fit about not having ham so I decided to boycott the entire day.

Luckily, I wasn’t alone in the endeavor!

003012

Dad, Huz, and I debated on what to do to boycott the traditions surrounding Easter and decided that the furthest thing off would naturally be eating out of the garbage can.

027

Yep, we hit up Famous Dave’s and split the Famous Feast that is actually served in a garbage can lid. We are a classy bunch, obviously.

015020

So there was chicken, ribs, brisket, corn on the cob, slaw, beans, fries, and corn muffins.

I loaded up a plate with chicken, corn, some slaw, and a corn muffin. All were fantastic.

029

The boys plates looked a little bit different.

034

Meat, meat, and more meat!

Finger-licking good!

037039

It was a great dinner and I wouldn’t have our hamless Easter any other way.

11 Responses

  1. That’s your DAD? Holy crap, I thought it was your brother. He looks so YOUNG.

  2. I love that Famous Dave’s has platters on trash can lids. Cracks me up!

  3. Haha, hilarious. Nothing like bucking tradition all out. 🙂 I tried to convince my dad to switch it up this year (he makes leg of lamb every year and I had a genius idea for lamb chops). He didn’t go for it, but it was still amazing!

  4. I have an absolutely ridiculous craving for corn bread now. Oh my.

  5. I love the idea of a dinner like that at a restaurant!! Everyone can sort of just pick at what they want.

    My old boyfriend and I used to go to the dirtiest, cheapest diners we could find for Valentine’s Day. Bucking tradition is sometimes more fun than the tradition itself 😉

  6. Eating off a garbage can lid seems the most natural thing to do. Why didn’t I think of that? Awesome grub!

  7. That was a very cool dinner.Glad you guys enjoyed it.

  8. I have never been to Daves. Your meal looked fantastic. You cant get any more southern than that. Did you wash it down with a sweet tea?

  9. This looks like the perfect easter to me! And trash can lids? I love that.

Leave a Reply

