Amaretto Almond Chicken

051

I have very fond memories of being a teenager staying at my dad’s in the summer and raiding his liquor cabinet for Amaretto.

029

For my young palette, the sweet liquor was quite the treat and a couple tumblers would get me nice and toasty. Then some weeks later, Dad would get the hankering for a pour. “HEY! Where’d all the amaretto go?!” and I would just sheepishly smile.

He knew. And I don’t think he really cared. I was a good kid.

For the most part.

Amaretto will always have soft spot in my heart. So when I saw Amaretto Chicken (aka Boozy chicken) pop up in my Foodbuzz inbox, it immediately got added to my “MAKE ME!” folder.

Amaretto Almond Chicken

Ingredients

    2 chicken breasts, filleted
    salt and pepper to taste
    1 T butter
    1 T olive oil
    3 c sliced mushrooms
    1/2 c slivered almonds
    1/2 c Amaretto

Directions

Salt and pepper your chicken breasts on both sides. In a medium skillet, heat the butter and oil. Sauté the chicken breasts until cooked through, flipping frequently to prevent heavy browning. Remove chicken from pan and keep warm.

In the same pan, sauté the mushrooms until soft. Add the almond slivers and lightly toast. Pour in amaretto and cook until reduced by about half.

Spoon mushroom mixture on top of chicken to serve.

Serving Size: One chicken fillet with 1/2 cup of topping
Number of Servings: 4
Nutrition

063

It was simple to make and turned out really well. The sweet cherry flavor of the amaretto was apparent but not overpowering. This is a definite make-again! We always have a bottle of amaretto lying around.

068

6 Responses

  1. Now this is my kind of recipe!! I only just tried Disarrono for the first time a few weeks ago. Drank it mixed with gingerale, which is an odd combo, but sooooo good.

  2. perfect combo of childhood fave taken on an adult twist!

  3. Boozy=yummy. That looks really good. Quick and easy, too.

  4. How super creative! I think I have some Amaretto sitting in my pantry. I love that this is super quick and healthy as well.

  5. Thanks for giving me another reason to buy Amaretto. It looks very tasty and filling.

  6. Boozy chicken hahah … u’re hilarious! 🙂 But it sounds soooo good!

Leave a Reply

