North African Stew with Poached Eggs

013

Nothing about this worked. It was a big fat flop. I obviously overcooked the eggs. The stir-fry mix I used wasn’t very good (ew, water chestnuts and squiggy mushrooms). The flavors were very bland. Eating Well, you rarely let me down. I’m disappointed.

002

I really wanted to love this recipe. Probably because I love eggs. And if I could find a legit way to have them at dinner, I’d die and go to heaven. (Sorry, breakfast for dinner doesn’t count as legit. And neither does carbonara.) If you have any solid eggy dinner recipes, please send them my way!

021

North African Stew with Poached Eggs

Ingredients

    2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
    3 cups frozen pepper stir-fry vegetables
    1 bell pepper, sliced
    1 teaspoon coriander seeds
    1/2 teaspoon caraway seeds
    Pinch of salt
    1/4 teaspoon paprika, plus more for sprinkling
    1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    2 14 1/2-ounce cans diced tomatoes
    1 15 1/2-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
    Freshly ground pepper, to taste
    4 large eggs

Directions

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add stir-fry vegetables; cook, stirring occasionally, until most of the liquid has evaporated, 5 to 7 minutes.

Meanwhile, grind coriander seeds, caraway seeds and salt coarsely in a spice mill, a dry blender or in a mortar and pestle. Transfer to a small bowl and stir in 1/4 teaspoon paprika and cayenne.

Add garlic and the spice mixture to the skillet; cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add tomatoes and chickpeas; bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to medium and cook at a lively simmer until slightly thickened, 10 to 15 minutes. Season with pepper.

Break eggs into separate quadrants of the stew, taking care not to break the yolks. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover the skillet and cook until the eggs are set, 5 to 7 minutes. Sprinkle eggs with paprika. Carefully transfer an egg and some stew to each plate.

Serving Size: 2 cups of stew and one egg
Number of Servings: 4
Nutrition

010

The one homerun with this meal was what I served it with.

022

A throwback to my childhood! Tater tots for the win!

7 Responses

  1. I LOVE tater tots. They can redeem any flopped recipe. 🙂 Luckily now is the time for egg recipes with Easter around the corner- I saw an article in the WSJ with some recipes that look amazing and totally dinner worthy (like the Red Wine Poached Eggs- yum). Check it out: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704503104576251121705787208.html

  2. Your stew looks great and I love the throwback to Tater Tots!!

  3. Lovin the tater tots! Nice save!

  4. Oh no! I’m sure you can tweak in the future!

  5. i love tots!

  6. I hate flops but LOVE tots! (ha that rhymed!) It sounds delicious though. I love eggs too!

  7. Leah, Eating Well has disappointed me on numerous occasions… so I stopped going to them. Sorry about your meal 😦

Leave a Reply

