Chicken Sausage with Pineapple Mango Salsa

077

I keep looking for ways to use up the new chicken sausages that I am obsessed with! This a few more tweaks, this recipe could be a real winner.

084

Chicken Sausage with Pineapple Mango Salsa

Ingredients

    1 (12 ounce) chicken sausage, fully cooked, sliced diagonal 1/4 inch thick
    1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
    1 Tbls white wine
    1 cup mango, 1 inch chunks
    1 cup pineapple, 1 inch chunks
    1 large tomato, chopped
    1 jalapeno, diced

    1 cup prepared fresh/frozen edamame (soybeans)
    1 cup canned black beans, rinsed
    1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp cumin
    1/4 tsp garlic powder

Directions

Heat a 12 inch skillet with olive oil over high heat. Quickly sauté the jalapeno sausage for 2 minutes, add the white wine to deglaze the pan. Toss in the mango and pineapple and sauté for 2-3 minutes. Add the tomato, jalapeno, edamame and black beans, continue to cook 2-3 minutes just to heat through.

Spoon the sausage and mango and pineapple salsa over the rice and serve immediately. Garnish with cilantro.

Serving Size: serves 4
Nutrition

064

This recipe was full of some really awesome ingredients, it just needed … more … oomph. More spices, more salt for sure.

073

Also, I’m currently obsessed with cooking with mango and pineapple so expect to see more of this in the future. It’s a party in my mouth.

076

And I leave with one adorable outtake:

063

She is by my side at all times when I’m in the kitchen.

10 Responses

  1. You may not believe this but I cooked grilled pork tenderloin with …. hang on….Mango Pineapple Salsa. No really, I’ll be posting soon. Mine was really flavorful, maybe it’ll have what yours was missing (I’m guessing the lime I used). Either way, creepy that we we’re on the same wave length.

  2. This looks great! I, too, have a pup that will not leave my side [or my feet] while I am in the kitchen creation a way. I don’t know if you like Mexican food, but I have a similar recipe I used for Chicken Enchiladas… I just happened to use peach – mango salsa!
    Here is the link if you’re interested : http://lifewithmel.com/cookingwithmel/2011/3/24/mango-peach-chicken-enchiladas.html

    I might have to give this a try soon!! 😀

  3. I love pineapple and mango salsa! i think that the flavor combinations are great and it is good on most meats and fish. I bet with chicken sausage it would be divine. Thanks for the post!

  4. This does look like a winner! And so simple too, yum!

  5. I can’t stress enough how much of a sucker I am for mango salsa. Delish!

  6. Looks like a winner already!

  7. Looks great! I have a golden retriever and beagle that keep my floors spotless when I’m cooking.

    The beagle will howl at the door when I grill chicken. He KNOWS when I’m grilling his favorite.

  8. Yummy, I love your salsa and edamame is always yummy 🙂

  9. As soon as I saw the title for this post, my mouth started to water. This would be such a great summer dish as well and I could even see myself tossing it into a salad to make it a little more filling.

  10. So glad I came across this.. I was trying to figure out what to do with these jalapeno cheddar chicken sausages, and really wanted to incorporate mango salsa that I bought yesterday. Fortunately, I have the rest of the ingredients on hand too! Can’t wait to try it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

