Mediterranean Quiche with Corn Tortilla Crust

036

As you know, this past week, my menu plan had a heavy Mediterranean influence. And while my decision was based solely on cravings (mmm, kalamatas, capers, tomatoes), it actually worked really well to plan a menu like this. You buy a jar of olives, you use it 4 or 5 times over the course of the week, and then it is gone and you don’t have to stress about using them up.

Or am I the only one that worries about those kinds of things? (I hate having a million and one jars littering my poor refrigerator!)

This quiche was the perfect way to use up some of the remaining hodge podge of ingredients that were floating around our house. Except those anchovies. Not sure what I’m going to do with the last of those fillets. Maybe another Caesar this week? That wouldn’t be the end of the world.

014

Mediterranean Quiche with Corn Tortilla Crust

Ingredients

    5 6-inch white corn tortillas
    2 cups chopped frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of excess water
    1 cup chopped sun dried tomato (not packed in oil)
    1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped
    1 tsp fresh thyme
    1 large shallot, thinly sliced
    1/3 cup shredded parmesan
    5 large eggs
    3/4 cup eggbeaters
    1/2 cup chopped kalamatas

Directions

In a greased deep-dish 9" pie pan, spread out tortillas so that there is about a 1/2" overhang and the entire surface of the pan is covered.

Spread spinach, tomato, basil, thyme, shallots, and parmesan evenly in layers over the tortillas.

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs and egg beaters together. Pour over the vegetables in the pie dish as evenly as possible.

Sprinkle with kalamatas.

Bake at 350* for 45 minutes or until eggs are firmly set.
Serves 6.
Nutrition

Yes, I am aware that quiche is French and tortillas are Mexican but this quiche is full of delicious Mediterranean flare.

003

I’ve never made quiche before using corn tortillas but came across the idea when I was looking for new and unique ways to use them up. This worked out to be a fantastic (and ridiculously easy) gluten free alternative to the standard quiche crust.

007

I could probably eat quiche every weekend of my life and be satisfied. I  love that you assemble them and then pop them in the oven and forget about them! It leaves you ample time to suck down some coffee and enjoy the paper on a lazy Sunday morning.

015

And this was quite possibly the best quiche I’ve ever made.

038

Mediterranean Week Dishes:

Salmon Antipasto Salad

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

Salmon Pomodoro

Roasted Cod with Warm Tapenade

Tuscan Garlic Chicken

Cashew Cream Caesar Salad with Chicken

8 Responses

  1. This looks so good! I love Mediterranean food and this dish seems pretty easy to make. Interesting way to make a crust, too.

  2. Wow, what a really creative recipe! i would have never thought of that myself.

  3. That sounds really good. We’ll have to try it.

  4. Wow. I love quiche, and I love this recipe. I must try it someday.

  5. What a fabulous idea my dear! This is truly right up my alley, looks great!

  6. This looks fantastic. I love the tortilla crust!

  7. This is really good recipe, like the idea of using corn tortillas for the crust. And I’m with you about the jars taking up space in the fridge.

  8. What an absolutely perfect dish, I love the tortilla crust! It’s really quite pretty too!

Leave a Reply

