HUZ IN THE KITCH: Roasted Cod with Warm Tapenade

One night last week, this beautiful lady had a much deserved night off from cooking.

027

(Doesn’t her new haircut look great?!)

Anyways, on with dinner.

068

Roasted Cod with Warm Tapenade:

Leah picked this recipe out of Eating Well with the goal of continuing her Mediterranean-themed week. You probably know by now that she has a great eye for good food. Well, I volunteered to cook this delightful meal with the intention of having it on the table when she got home from her after work haircut; but alas, I got stuck at work longer than I should’ve been and was just starting the prep work when she came through the door. The best laid plans…

Oh well, Leah didn’t seem to mind. She got to enjoy one of her favorite activities….supervising me and telling me what to do. Haha.  😉

Here’s the nuts and bolts of the recipe:

4 servings

Active Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients
  • 1 pound cod fillet,
  • 3 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced shallot
  • 1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup chopped cured olives
  • 1 tablespoon capers, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano thyme
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Preparation
  1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Rub cod with 2 teaspoons oil. Sprinkle with pepper. Place on the prepared baking sheet. Transfer to the oven and roast until the fish flakes easily with a fork, 15 to 20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillet.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the remaining 1 teaspoon oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Add shallot and cook, stirring, until beginning to soften, about 20 seconds. Add tomatoes and cook, stirring, until softened, about 1 1/2 minutes. Add olives and capers; cook, stirring, for 30 seconds more. Stir in oregano and vinegar; remove from heat. Spoon the tapenade over the cod to serve.
Nutrition

Per serving: 168 calories; 8 g fat ( 1 g sat , 6 g mono ); 43 mg cholesterol; 4 g carbohydrates; 0 g added sugars; 19 g protein; 1 g fiber; 373 mg sodium; 286 mg potassium.

My ingredients:

002

I like to get all of the ingredients out so I’m not too stressed when I begin to prep the meal. This planning effort doesn’t entirely work, because I tend to stress out when I’m in charge of a meal anyway. The kitchen is still unfamiliar territory for me and I constantly find myself comparing my abilities to my wife’s. That, and I don’t want to displease her….especially when she’s hungry.

Turns out, that I had nothing to stress about with this meal. It really came together nicely once all the chopping and measuring were done (which I highly recommend you do beforehand).

017

022033

Once the ingredients were prepped and the cod was rubbed with oil and pepper, I was ready to rock-and-roll.

The cod went into the pre-heated oven and I dove straight into making my first ever tapenade.

035038

I was surprised at how quickly the tapenade came together and how sensitive the tomatoes were to the heat. I kinda obliterated them. If I were to do this over again, I probably would’ve held off on starting the tapenade until the cod only had about 10 more minutes in the oven. That way, my tomatoes wouldn’t have turned to mush.

The cod turned out perfectly, though. See for yourself:

041

Mmmmmmm. To accompany these fine fishies, I the wife decided I should pair them with green beans and another dish of cous cous (so nice, they named it twice) with spinach and sun dried tomatoes.

047045

Dinner is served.

051057076

This was a very quick meal that was rather manageable to prepare (even by my standards) and pretty darn tasty. Not a wow dish by any means, but certainly a nice way to mix things up and definitely packed with Mediterranean flavor.

082

4 Responses

  1. Aw! Great post by the Huz. I think it looks delicious.

    I struggle with timing dishes too.

  2. Well done!! The meal looks well put together, I am sure it must have tasted great as well! You could make this a weekly occurance (or rent him out to others!)

  3. Great Job! You can cook for me any time 🙂

  4. This dish looks splendid!

Leave a Reply

