Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

091

Well, this one didn’t really work out like I had envisioned in my head. Tasty, but… not quite right. And I know exactly what went wrong. So next time, it’s on like Donkey Kong!

099

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

Ingredients

    2 cups broth
    1 clove garlic, smashed
    1 cup uncooked quinoa
    1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    1 large onion, diced
    1/2 large bell pepper, diced
    1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
    1/2 cup chopped kalamata olives (about 15 olives)
    1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese (about 4 ounces) <- melted completely!
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    2/3 cup fresh lemon juice <- too much!
    1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
    2 Tbls olive oil

Directions

1.Bring the broth and garlic to a boil in a saucepan. Stir in the quinoa, reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes. Discard the garlic clove and scrape the quinoa into a large bowl.

Gently stir the chick peas, onion, bell pepper, tomatoes, olives, goat cheese, and salt into the quinoa. Drizzle with the lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. Stir until evenly mixed. Serve warm or refrigerate and serve cold.

Serving Size: Serves 4

083

While the flavor was good, the result was a little soupy. Huz even remarked, “This isn’t really like a salad, is it?” No, dear husband, it is not.

104

But it was totally edible, and totally easy to make, it just happened to be off the mark a whee bit. That’s ok. I’m not giving up. Maybe this weekend I’ll give Jenna’s version a shot…

8 Responses

  1. I love quinoa…I bet this still tasted great!

  2. that looks/sounds good…what kind of goat cheese were you using? it looked like it had stuff in it. check out my giveaway!

  3. Love it all! I love quinoa. I just discovered it in the past few years and I am so upset I didn’t know about it earlier…this looks awesome!

  4. I’ll have to try this too!

  5. delicious looking salad colourful

  6. That is a lot of lemon juice! We do love a quinoa salad quite like this! I once added creamy feta while the quinoa was still warm and it melted nicely throughout but did turn mushy. The flavours in this salad do sound great….also makes for a great lunch the next day!

  7. I love all of the bold flavors! I bet the quinoa just soaked them right up!

Leave a Reply

