Mediterranean Salmon Antipasto Salad

052

This week is a semi-accidental Mediterranean Week in our kitchen! I was halfway through meal planning for the week when I realized I had selected all Mediterranean-flare dishes so I just decided to go with it! Apparently, my body was craving salt kalamatas and capers, fresh bell peppers, chickpeas galore, and lots of seafood!

029

First up:

Mediterranean Tuna Salmon Antipasto Salad

from Eating Well (original recipe here)

Ingredients

    1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    1 5-ounce can wild salmon
    1/2 large red bell pepper, finely diced
    1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
    2 teaspoons capers
    1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary
    1/4 cup lemon juice, divided
    2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
    Freshly ground pepper, to taste
    1/8 teaspoon salt
    4 cups mixed salad greens

Directions

Combine beans, salmon, bell pepper, onion, capers, rosemary, 2 Tbls lemon juice and 1 tablespoon oil in a medium bowl. Season with pepper. Combine the remaining 2 tbls lemon juice, 1 tablespoon oil and salt in a large bowl. Add salad greens; toss to coat. Divide the greens among 2 plates. Top each with the salmon salad.

Servings: 2

Nutrition

040

We ate this for lunch following a pretty heavy breakfast and it was perfecto! I’m sure that it would be great with tuna as originally written but that’s on my “no-no list” and I’m all for getting omega-3’s where I can!

046

True story: I was making this for my lunch and was going to have Huz eat other leftovers because I’m a terrible wife he generally doesn’t care for salads but I made him have a bite and he promptly changed his mind!

059

Be on the look-out for more Mediterranean dishes all week long!

7 Responses

  1. I have to make this as soon as humanly possible.

  2. Bring on the kalamatas and capers! My favorites. This salad looks so good; can’t wait to try it.

  3. You know, the sun is shining as if we’re in summer already here and I think you’re on to something with that gorgeous salad from the Med. Sounds like just the thing we need just now! Thanks.

  4. This looks awesome! Love salads for lunch when it’s warm out.

  5. What a beautiful, healthy salad. YUM!

  6. I seriously just bought that Salmon for costco! Thanks for sharing this, can’t wait to try it in this recipe!

  7. I love this recipe, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

