Mexican Polenta Casserole

086

This is going in the category of “You win some, you lose some”.

087

In all honestly, it wasn’t really that bad but it didn’t come together like I had fathomed in my mind and the almond cheese on top was one giant plastic flop. (Really, I think the plasticyness of the almond cheese could have been prevented by covering the casserole for the cooking phase but I’m not entirely sure.)

067

Mexican Polenta Casserole

Ingredients

    1 tube prepared polenta, sliced in 1/2" rounds
    1 medium onion, chopped
    2 bell peppers, chopped
    1 Tbls olive oil
    1 15-ounce can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
    1 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
    2 cups corn kernels
    1 5-ounce can diced green chiles
    1 cup Pace Picante sauce or other salsa
    3/4 cup egg beaters
    2 Tbls nutritional yeast
    8 oz cheddar almond cheese (or regular cheese, thinly sliced or shredded)

Directions

In greased 9×13 casserole dish, line the bottom with polenta rounds.

In a medium pan over medium heat, saute onion and bell peppers in olive oil until soft. Spread evenly over polenta.

In a medium bowl, combine remaining ingredients except for cheese. Mix well. Feel free to add additional seasonings here. Spread bean mixture over veggies and polenta in casserole dish.

Top with cheese.

Bake at 350* for 35 minutes.

Serving Size: Serves 8

Nutrition here

092

At least it was fun to assemble?

065060069061072073078084

I was really hoping that adding the egg would help hold everything together but it didn’t, really.

090

The flavor was good, I guess, and it had a lot of good ingredients. But it just. didn’t. work. At least now I don’t have a role of polenta staring back at me every time I open the fridge.

*sigh*

6 Responses

  1. The cheese does look funky. But I bet with “regular” cheese it would be a good recipe….?

  2. Love everything about this recipe. I hope to try this this weekend.

  3. I love polenta and everything about this recipe! Daiya cheese may work well

  4. This looks great except for the cheese. Sometimes the imitations just can’t replace the original I guess.

  5. I so feel your pain on the cheese substitute front. I’ve battled with it when cooking for vegan friends…the bean filling looks really tasty and flavorful, though!

  6. Oh I have been hearing great things about Almond Cheese. Good to know it doesnt melt well… But I have been wanting to make something like this too!

Leave a Reply

