Sweet Potato Corn and Black Bean Soup

029

Am I the only one that can not believe it is APRIL already? I hope the rain stops and the sun decides to come out to play because we have BIG plans for this month! I can’t wait to fill you all in! In the meantime, I’m still eating soups because it is gray and dreary and what else is there to do?

045

The really great thing about this soup is that it is made with all fresh ingredients so it is actually pretty light and refreshing while still giving you warm fuzzies all over.

Sweet Potato Corn and Black Bean Soup

Ingredients

    2 lbs sweet potato, peeled and diced
    2 medium sweet onions, diced
    1 Tbls olive oil
    4 cups vegetable broth
    2 cups water
    3 cups corn kernals
    1 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
    1 red bell pepper, diced
    1 4oz can of diced chiles
    2 Tbls lime juice
    1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

Saute onions in olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add broth, water, and sweet potatoes. Simmer until potatoes are soft. Using an immersion blender, puree until smooth. Stir in corn, black beans, and bell pepper and heat through. Just prior to servings, stir in lime juice and cilantro.

Serving Size: Makes 6 2-cup servings

Nutrition

044

Now, normally, I don’t go through the effort of actually peeling potatoes. Besides, there are a lot of great nutrients hiding in that skin! And I really like the texture it can add, especially in mashed potatoes!

021

But for this soup, I really wanted a smooth, creamy base so off went the skins!

026

The result was really luscious. I loved the bites of soft bean, the crunch of the bell pepper, and the velvetiness of the base. The sweet potato paired with fresh Mexican flavors was really unique and totally worked. But I’m a total sucker for both of those things so I may be largely biased.

038

6 Responses

  1. This looks amazing. I like looking for unique things to do with sweet potatoes. They are so good for us and yet all we usually do is steam them and pile them up with sugar. I will definitely be trying this one out!

  2. Sweet potatoes, corn, and black beans– some of my favorite ingredients! I’m so excited to try this recipe!

  3. Is the “4oz can of diced chiles” an error in the ingredients list? If not, at what point should it be added to the soup?

  4. […] this  Sweet Potato, Corn, and Black Bean soup by Leftovers 4 Lunch is worth all the fanfare, and has risen to the top of my list of favorite soups. It’s super […]

Leave a Reply

