Creole Fish Soup

010

There is something about the idea of fish soup that honestly, it just kinda turns me off. I don’t know what it is. Like when I think of fish, I most certainly don’t think of soup.

But you know what? This wasn’t half bad!

I actually even sort of really liked it!

018

Creole Fish Soup

Original recipe here

Ingredients

    2 (15 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
    1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
    1 cup water
    1 cup chopped onion
    1 tsp garlic
    1 bell pepper, chopped
    1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    1/2 teaspoon celery salt
    1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
    1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    2 bay leaves
    1 cup frozen peas
    1 cup frozen corn
    1 cup frozen green beans
    1 cup frozen chopped spinach
    1 pound cod, cut into 3/4-inch pieces

Directions

In a soup kettle, combine all the ingredients except for the fish; cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add fish; cover and simmer for 8-10 minutes or until the fish flakes easily with a fork. Discard the bay leaves.

Serving Size: 5 2-cup servings

Nutrition here. <- Really good stats!

013

This recipe is so easy, even a husband could do it!

002

Or not…

004

“Put the canned stuff in the pot!” He’s so funny.

I actually think this sort of tasted like a minestrone; I think it could have used a dash more zip to it but overall, it was really satisfying, especially for the calories. And the fish in it? Not at all weird.

015

4 Responses

  1. The thought of fish soup grosses me out too! But I must say … this soup looks really good! I’m always open to try things too, even if they don’t sound great 😉

  2. I would have to agree with the fish soup makes me kinda hesitant…but this looks really good!

  3. haha love the pic of your husband making soup. My boyfriend would do something like that!

  4. For zip in tomato-based dishes (especially anything Creole or any type of tomato soup) I use Tabasco Habanero. Just a couple dashes and you’ll make it much livelier! Don’t know if you can get the funky Tabascos outside of Southeast Louisiana, though…

    I’m going to have to try this, it looks great!

Leave a Reply

