BBQ Baked Beans with Sausage

022

On our latest trip to Costco, I found some chicken sausage that didn’t have apple or cheese in them – score! And besides the beef casing, they totally fit my new diet guidelines. I can overlook that.

007

So I googled recipes for chicken sausage and was stoked when I saw Eating Well pop up – it is my all-time favorite cooking magazine and I knew they wouldn’t fail me!

035

BBQ Baked Beans and Sausage

Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup prepared barbecue sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 16oz chopped collard greens, tough stems removed
  • 9 ounces cooked chicken sausage links, (about 3 links), halved lengthwise and sliced
  • 2 15-ounce cans white beans, drained and rinsed

Preparation

  1. Whisk barbecue sauce, water, tomato paste, molasses, salt and pepper in a medium bowl.
  2. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and collard greens and cook, stirring occasionally, until the collards are wilted, 3 to 5 minutes. Add sausage and cook, stirring, until beginning to brown, about 3 minutes more.
  3. Reduce heat to medium-low; add beans and the sauce mixture to the pan. Gently stir to combine, cover and cook until heated through, about 3 minutes.

027
While making this, I realized I have never actually made my own baked beans! That’s going to be added to my summer-to-do list!

002

Another easy 1-pot meal win! (And I’m still loving using frozen greens, obviously! Our dark leafy green intake has tripled since I’ve been stocking up on those freezer bags!)

015

6 Responses

  1. I was wondering what to make for dinner tonight and then saw this! problem solved! thanks for all the great recipe ideas.

  2. This is a very hearty meal and I hear ya about all the unnecessary stuff in chicken sausge.

  3. Yum, this looks delicious! I love 1 pot meals!

  4. love this dish .. so light and looks gorgeous! I am co-hosting the Hearth and Soul Hop, would really like you to share your recipe with us 🙂

  5. Oh my…that meal look incredible! Love the colors and the photos!!!
    Have a wonderful night!

  6. Just perfect! We made something similar last week, we didn’t have sausage, but we found some spicy hot dogs in the freezer, it wasn’t bad for a easy dinner!

Leave a Reply

