Polenta with Goat Cheese and Greens

074

I really don’t have much experience with polenta. But whenever I see it on other blogs, I always think it looks really appealing. So I decided I needed to try it out. But baby steps! I’m starting with prepared polenta first. One day I’ll make it from scratch. I promise.

028035

Polenta with Goat Cheese and Greens

Ingredients

    1 tube prepared polenta, sliced into 8 rounds
    1 Tbls olive oil
    fresh ground pepper
    1 roma tomato, sliced
    4 oz soft goat cheese, crumbled
    1 10oz package of frozen greens
    2 Tbls parmesan
    1 clove garlic, minced

Directions

In a heavy saute pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Brown polenta rounds, flipping once.

Remove polenta from pan and place on a greased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with fresh ground pepper. Top rounds with 1 slice of tomato and a 1/2 oz of goat cheese. Broil in the oven for a few minutes – cheese should be melty and tomato softened.

In the same pan you cooked the polenta, reduce heat to medium-low and sauté garlic for one minute. Stir in spinach and heat through. Stir in grated parmesan.

Serve polenta rounds on top of the sautéed spinach.

1 serving = 2 rounds + 1/2 cup of greens
Total # of servings: 4

037

Nutriton here.

082

So, aren’t these just gorgeous?

078

I envision them perfect as an appetizer for fun dinner party. They have some serious curb appeal and they are delicious. You can even assemble them ahead of time and just pop them under the broiler for a few while guests mingle!

063

But we don’t do dinner parties in this house. We just do dinner. Then party. (Yeah right.)

095

Yeah, better stick with them as just appetizers. It’s for the best, really.

084

10 Responses

  1. Yum, those look awesome! I don’t cook polenta often either, but it really isn’t that difficult- I should get creative with it like this more!

  2. This looks delicious! I love polenta but rarely deviate from making it “mexican” (ie topping it with cheese, black beans, salsa and sour cream). I definitely want to try this because i love goat cheese…..

  3. these look delicious! i’m with you on sticking to premade polenta…it’s easy and tasty! adding goat cheese is totally inspired 🙂

  4. Those are too good looking to eat! And I am sure they taste as good as they look.

  5. That look awesome!!

  6. This looks beautiful! I’m definitely going to make this! It’s ALMOST too pretty to eat 🙂

  7. I love making polenta from scratch but I also buy the pre-made stuff all the time, in fact I have some in my pantry right now and I am soooo looking forward to trying this recipe! Thanks for sharing!!

  8. Great idea on a way to use premade polenta! I bet it’s awesome with the goat cheese. Nice idea!

  9. So funny, we have had a package of Polenta in the fridge for a few weeks, just this morning my husband reminded me to “find something to do with the polenta”, this is perfect!

  10. I’ve never seen polenta in a tube before! Interesting, I’ll have to look out for it, this is a great use of the polenta!

Leave a Reply

