Aloo Gobi

003

The other day, I was searching my blog for an Aloo Gobi recipe and to my dismay, nothing popped up! How is this possible?! My love of Indian hasn’t shared the goodness of Aloo Gobi with you? That had to change.

011

Aloo Gobi

1 large onion, sliced
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 large head cauliflower, cut into florets
1 cup chopped carrots
3 medium potatoes, cut into 1 – 2" chunks
1 tbsp of olive oil
3 cloves garlic, mashed with garlic press
1 tsp of cumin seed
1/4 tsp of tumeric powder
1/4 tsp garam masala
1/4 tsp ground coriander
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp fresh minced ginger
1 cup of water
cilantro for garnish

Heat olive oil, onions and salt over medium heat. Cook onions until soft, stirring often. Next, add garlic and ginger and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring often. Add tomatoes and water; cook until tomatoes begin to break down, again, stirring often.

Add remaining ingredients, except chopped cilantro. Turn heat to low and allow to simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring often. Check seasonings to taste, and adjust. Add chopped cilantro.

Recipe with nutrition here.

026

I love aloo gobi (literally potato cauliflower) because it is hearty and filling, flavorful, and easy to make.

022

6 Responses

  1. It looks delicious! I’ve never heard of this recipe before. It looks like it’s pretty simple. Saving this one.

  2. Yum! It looks so tasty, and easy! Never heard of it, but can’t wait to give it a try! Beautiful picture too!

  3. This is one of my all time fav dish. I too posted a cauliflower dish 🙂

  4. Yummy love the color too!

  5. This looks beautiful! I’m making lamb vindaloo for my family tonight and can’t wait!! 🙂

  6. I love Aloo Gobi! I haven’t had it in a while and now I know what I am going to make for dinner a few nights from now!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

