Buffalo Chicken Risotto

031

So I think I’ve figured out why I really really like risottos.

It’s basically like an adult version of mac n’ cheese. And who doesn’t love mac n’ cheese?

Risotto is starchy, creamy, and totally delicious. Sure, it generally doesn’t come out of a box (but it can!) and it takes longer than 12 minutes, but it can be unnaturally orange too!

023

My second best ever risotto to date:

Buffalo Chicken Risotto

Ingredients

    2 Tbls butter
    2 Tbls olive oil
    1 cup chopped onion
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    1 cooked chicken breast, shredded
    1 cup arborio rice
    4 cups chicken stock/broth
    1/4 cup hot
    sauce (or to taste)
    4 oz bleu cheese

Directions

In a large saucepan, heat butter and olive oil over medium heat. Saute onion for 5-7 minutes until translucent. Stir in garlic and saute 1 minute or until fragrant.

Add rice, stir frequently for 3 minutes. 1/2 a cup at a time, add broth and stir continuously until absorbed. When rice is tender and the broth is all absorbed, stir in the hot sauce and shredded chicken. Heat through.

Just prior to serving, remove from heat and stir in bleu cheese crumbles.

Number of Servings: 4

012

Everyone loves buffalo chicken. Not everyone loves bleu cheese. I used to be one of those people. But no one can deny the magic that happens when buffalo meets bleu. Sparks, I tell ya!

020

And what is mandatory with buffalo chicken?

010

Beer of course! (And I may or may not have added a splash to the risotto.)

048

If you do anything at all this weekend, please make this. Then you can die happy.

(Yes, I know my obsession with risottos may be getting a tad out of hand but really? There are worse things in life.)

7 Responses

  1. Mmm, look so creamy and delicious!

    Have a great weekend!! 😀

  2. Awesome idea!! I am completely saving this one! So…how much beer ‘fell’ into risotto….

  3. This really intrigues me. Love risotto. Love hot sauce. Love blue cheese. You really can’t go wrong in my book.

  4. I am loving this! Big big fan of buffalo chicken and blue cheese. I agree, the beer is the perfect partner!

  5. I don’t think your risotto obsession is out of hand – risotta is amazing. And – when you go and combine it with some of the best ingredients on earth: (ie – FRANKS!!!!!) – well, now I”m going to be distracted for the entire rest of the day dreaming about how wonderful this dish much taste! 🙂

  6. risotta? good for me. RISOTTO. :p

  7. Love this! One of those things I’d never think of but makes sense! YUM!

Leave a Reply

