Baked Turkey Meatballs

I’m going to try and refrain from ball jokes this time. But I can’t promise anything.

009

I’m not going to lie. I’m actually not a fan of meatballs.

019

I’d rather just have the meaty chunky spaghetti sauce instead. But for the sake of variety and pleasing my husband, I gave meatballs a shot.

023

Baked meatballs. Because one of the main gripes I have with cooking meatballs on the stovetop is that they never all fit in the pan at once thus creating a longer timeline for getting dinner on the table.

036

Baked Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients

20 oz ground turkey
1 egg
1/2 cup egg whites
1 cup dry breadcrumbs (I used corn-based)
1/2 cup finely minced onion
1 Tbls dry Italian seasoning
1 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 dashes cayenne

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Mix well. Just dig in there with your hands. That’s the easiest, I promise.

Form meat into balls about the size of golf balls. I got 26 out of my batch.

Place meatballs on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 400* for 25 minutes.

037

For my marinara, I used 2 cans of tomato sauce, 1 small can of tomato paste, substantial amounts of Italian seasonings, garlic powder, salt, pepper, a bit of cayenne, some chopped mushrooms and garlic and onion.

056

I could definitely live without meatballs in my life but it was good, hearty grub. Is there something I’m missing?

6 Responses

  1. Baked meatballs are just not worth it. They are great in the crockpot, though, and turn into a totally different animal after simmering in sauce for 8 hours. Drool.

    Also, they don’t work well for me with turkey. I prefer using lean beef, or you can see if your grocery store sells “meatball mix,” which sometimes contains ground veal or pork as well as beef. Mmm.

  2. I love a good meatball. These look amazing!

  3. I prefer a meat sauce over meatballs as well, but every once in a while I cook them too. It’s always a good meal and the family enjoys it, but it isn’t something I need to have on a regular basis. Your version with turkey looks great :o)

  4. Those look delish. We’ve made turkey meatballs and I like them better than beef. Trader Joe’s has yummy meatless ones that taste just like meat.

  5. This is a really good recipe. Baking them is a good way to save some calories. Then you can eat a few more. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Your brother likes meat balls, really big ones, more like a round hamburger. I’m kinda lazy and don’t care to make them but when I do, I bake them also.

    Hey, we just had someone set up a fake appointment at work for Harry Ballsack, sheesh, what a turkey. Ok, I went there…really some did set up the appointment. It was quite the joke for the day.

Leave a Reply

