Date and Bleu Cheese Pizza

110

I daresay – this might be the best looking pizza we’ve ever made to date! The crust was not perfect but it was not a bad first attempt at homemade spelt crust!

064

Spelt Pizza Crust

Ingredients

    2 cups light spelt flour
    1 1/2 teaspoons quick-rising yeast
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil or
    1 1/2 tablespoons other cooking oil
    1 teaspoon honey
    2/3 cup warm water

Directions

Makes one 12-inch pizza crust, serves 6.
Stir first 3 ingredients together.
Add remaining ingredients. Stir well.
Knead until smooth. (I actually used the bread maker!) Let rise one hour in a warm kitchen.
Stretch to fit greased 10- or 12-inch pizza pan.

Number of Servings: 6 Nutrition here.

067

And apparently I am incapable of making a round crust.

Anywho. This was just enough for the two of us to be comfortably full. I think I might double it so we can have leftovers.

I topped the crust with roasted garlic – about 6 heads worth. Holy garlic heaven!

059075

I heated the stone in the oven to 450* then slid the crust on the stone that had a bit of cornmeal on it.

080

After baking the crust for 10 minutes, it was beautiful.

084

It puffed up so nicely! I added a light coat of olive oil to the edges of the crust.

086

Then I added the rest of the toppings.

100

Onion, spinach, sliced dates, (goat) bleu cheese. It was a pretty fabulous combinations but medjool dates would have been superior to the crappy (read: cheaper) California dates.

103

Bake for another ten minutes and take in its beauty!

115

The flavor of the toppings were phenomenal – the sweet roasted garlic, gooey dates, salty, sharp bleu cheese.

126

But the crust needs a bit of help. It was dry. We ended up dunking the end bits in BBQ sauce to make it more tolerable. But it was nice and crispy. Not sure what changes need to be made there. I’d call this a successful trial for sure! And I think my tummy agrees.

6 Responses

  1. Your pizza looks awesome!! 🙂

  2. I LOVE that you used that much garlic!! I have also never made a round crust, doesn’t matter, it’s all good!

  3. I just made pizza’s on Wednesday, used a crust recipe from Cook’s Illustrated. It was for thin and crispy crust, it came out thin and crispy but tasted like flour. Big disappointment, thank goodness I had tasty toppings. Still looking for that perfect pizza dough recipe.

  4. Yummm, this looks like my ideal pizza with all those amazing toppings. And I LOVE the layer of garlic. Heavenly!!

  5. Looks delish! I’ve found that anytime I make a yeast based dough, there can be a lot of variation…it’s all about experimentation!

  6. What a delicious pizza! I love spicing up my pizzas. It’s one of those dishes you can really add whatever you want to it! (within reason, of course)

Leave a Reply

