Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

047

Alternate title: “This is how much I love my husband.”

091

Alternate title: “I’ll take any excuse to challenge my baking skills – especially when beer, whiskey and Bailey’s in involved.”

071

Alternate title: “It’s all Brie’s fault.”

image

Whichever excuse I want to use (and apparently, there are many), I made these cupcakes. And it really was fun! And a test of my baking skillz which generally suck.

069

I made the cupcake batter.

097080

It’s hard to go wrong with that much beer and butter, really.

167174

I baked them.

217

And I let them cool all day (Sunday).

281

(Did I mention I made a double batch?)

I made ganache for the first time ever.

240

It’s hard to go wrong with that much cream and chocolate, really.

263

Then I let it cool all afternoon until it got deliciously thick.

I cored all the cupcakes with this fancy dancy cupcake corer we bought at Target for $6.99. Worth. It.

204294

And since I’m not a baker and don’t own frosting bags or tips, I just shoved all the ganache in to a huge ziploc, cut the tip, and went to town.

333314

Question for the bakers – what do you do with the cupcake innards? I ended up dividing them in to little cups and topping them with ganache for little sweet treats for the husband this week!

347

The whole process was actually sort of fun and didn’t take nearly as much time as I expected.

188

But boy did it generate a lot of dishes! Good thing I have a husband for that!

I wrapped up the cupcakes and stuck them in the freezer until last night.

035

Frosting ensued.

038

It’s hard to screw up just butter and sugar, right?

042

It was hit or miss for awhile there. But I think I got it.

044

Topped with Emerald City Green sprinkles, these were just the right amount of festive!

048

Husband was my taste tester and he thoroughly enjoyed them. “Best cupcakes I’ve ever had in my life!” (I’m pretty sure he’s obligated to say that, ya know.)

051

We’ll see how everyone likes them at the potluck today!

062

PS  – Don’t forget to wear your green tomorrow!

20 Responses

  1. Those look amazing … I’m sure they’ll go over really well!! 🙂 My husband uses the “best I’ve ever had” line too, and I never know if he’s just bias, lol.

  2. (I did not have time to read this yet, but saving in my google reader) – just wanted to comment, HELL YES!!! Looks amazing! Happy St. Patty’s day (a day early) love!

  3. Yum! I’m glad I tempted you to the dark side. I’ve always wanted to make them, but haven’t been able to justify the price of booze. Boo.

  4. I found you from Lisa’s site and omg these look AMAZING! You have one lucky husband.

  5. Dude. These are beyond creative! I want one.

  6. Those look so chocolaty! Yumola. Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

  7. Those look great. I just had to comment here since I made similar chocolate cupcakes last night for my sister’s birthday. 🙂

  8. Your baking skills are just fine! Wonderful, in fact! These look fabulous…and I’m sure they were a huge hit~

  9. amazing. enough said. I didn’t even know cupcake corers existed…COOL!

  10. oh man, I want to try those! I love booze in cupcakes! I’ve had guiness chip ice cream before and I bet it would be awesome with the cupcakes!

  11. A perfect accompaniment to Thin Mint Irish Coffee I would think. One of each and you’d be bamboozled! They really look great, you must be more of a baker that you thought.

  12. To answer your leftovers question, you either dip them in melted choc or roll them in your fave hot cocoa mix – or cinn sugar, or cocoa powder, or cinnamon, or any other tasty powder – and POOF! You have truffles. No lie, that’s the recipe in Fannie Farmer’s cookbook for truffles, and the winner 2 Valentine’s Days running!

  13. Ack, that’s what I get for not reading thoroughly – you were asking about cupcake innards, not leftover ganache. Do the above with the ganache, then take the cupcake innards and mash them into a bunch of leftover frosting, shape into balls and chill. Super yum, esp if you dip them in melted chocolate!

  14. Beautiful. So much chocolate and with chocolate filling.. sounds like a great thing 🙂

  15. Amazing post! That title had me in stitches :-))
    they look so wicked and love all your photos…

  16. Those look great! Have you ever had creme de menthe brownies? That’s what I thought of when I saw these cupcakes…mmm cravings.

  17. Now that is how you infuse liquor into a cupcake!

Leave a Reply

