Fish Tacos

It’s true, I’ve never met a taco I didn’t like. And this one is no different.

165

I’ve been wanting to tackle fish tacos at home ever since Foodbuzz Festival! There was a build-a-taco bar at the Tasting Pavilion and this homegirl went to town!

Flashback!

image

Yeah, it only took me 4 months to get around to this project but it was worth the wait!

158

Fish Tacos with Cilantro Mango Salsa

Ingredients

1 lb white fish fillets (I used Sole)
1 Tbls chili powder
1 tsp canola oil

1 tsp canola oil
1 cup onion, finely chopped
1 bell pepper, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced

1 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 cup mango, chopped (I used frozen mango chunks, thawed and chopped)

juice of 1 lime
2 dashes of cayenne pepper

1/2 an avocado, sliced

~10 4” corn tortillas
2 Tbls canola oil

Directions

Fish

Rub fish fillets with chili powder, both sides!

Heat a large frying pan over medium heat. Coat lightly with oil. (You really don’t need much!) Place fish fillets in pan and let cook for 2-5 minutes, depending on what type of fish you use and the thickness. The sole is very thin and cooks quickly. Carefully flip the fillets and cook another 1-3 minutes until cooked through. Fish should easily flake apart but try and keep it together!

Remove fish from pan and set aside.

Salsa

In a medium pan, heat 1 tsp canola oil, just enough to coat pan. Sauté onions until translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in bell pepper and garlic and sauté for 2 more minutes. Remove pan from heat.

In a medium bowl, combine the cilantro, mango, onion mixture, and cayenne to taste.

Tortillas

To heat tortillas, using a small frying pan, lightly coat the pan with oil and each side of the tortilla. (I actually used spray canola oil to do this but you can just brush the oil on as well.) Over a medium-high heat, heat tortillas, flipping occasionally so they don’t get too crispy, until heated through.

For each taco, place about 1.5 oz of fish, 1/4 cup of salsa, and slice of avocado.

Makes ~10 fish tacos

140

This is where I say, “Get in my belly!”

148

The fish cooks quickly and if you are a good multi-tasker, this meal can come together in under half in hour.

134

The cilantro mango salsa was fantastic and so flavorful and fresh! I think if I were to make this again, I’d do slightly less cilantro, slightly more mango, just to add a bit more of that sweet factor to it. And if you are feeling brave, you could even add a jalapeno to it!

130

I also find myself slowly becoming obsessed with corn tortillas. I used to be a flour-only kind of gal but I am trying to limit my wheat intake so I’ve been seeking out the goodness of my corn filled friends.

124

And “frying” them up was a good time. I thrive off of multi-tasking so between keeping an eye on the fish, stirring the veggies, and flipping tortillas, I was having the time of my life! (My husband might say otherwise – I often look frazzled but I swear, I really do love it!)

131

I also happen to have half a pack of the corn tortillas still left so I might have to have another taco-making venture in my near future.

153

12 Responses

  1. I saw a fish taco in a magazine earlier today and it look amazing … now I’m seeing them here and they look just as amazing! Is it a sign?? I think so!

  2. Tbe cilantro mango salsa is a winner. I will find a place in New York City serving your Tacos with this salsa

  3. Mmmm, I love fish tacos. You have some great photos on this post! Lovely.

  4. Hanging out for fish tacos was one of the highlights of Foodbuzz! 😉

    When I was in Mexico, we only ate corn tortillas and they were sooooo good; You can’t find them around here, I should get on making my own.

  5. I can make this, it´s very intersting have a one meal in one dish, thank for share it with me

  6. Big fan of fish tacos. I’m lazy and season mine with packaged taco seasoning. Easy and yummy. I’ve also been converted to the corn tortilla side….

  7. My favorites 🙂

  8. I love fish tacos and your mango salsa sounds like a fabulous accompaniment! YUM!

  9. Oh my! Those look super delicious! The salsa sounds to die for!

  10. I love fish. I love tacos. But for a long time the concept of fish tacos grossed me out. Until I finally ate one. Soooo delicious!!

  11. wow this is so what i’m making for a meatless lenten dinner on Friday. thank you for the inspiration!

  12. YAY! I have been looking for a great grilled fish taco recipe for ages now. I can’t wait to try this out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

