Meatless Monday: Lemon Lentil Soup

Soup season isn’t quite over just yet. And this one must have been a long one because I’m starting to repeat recipe ideas!

083

Yeah, I’ve made lemon lentil soup before but that was eons ago and this version is just a whee bit different. I’d give you a comparison but I honestly don’t really remember the old version.

096

Lemon Lentil Soup, Take Two

Ingredients

1 large onion, chopped
2 cups of chopped carrot (I used babies!)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbls olive oil
2 cups green lentils
6 cups vegetable broth
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp salt
2 dashes of cayenne

Directions

Saute onion, carrot, and garlic in large pot coated with olive oil over medium heat. Once the carrots are tender, pour in the lentils and broth. Simmer lentils until soft, about 30 minutes. Using an immersion blender, puree soup to desired consistency. I like some chunk still left in mine. Stir in remaining ingredients and serve.

Servings: 6
Serving Size: 1 3/4 cup

088

Ridiculously easy (and cheap!), right? With the way gas prices are right now, we might have to resort to eating this 3 times a week.

099

6 Responses

  1. You know if it’s lemon I’m lovin it!

  2. Oh, this looks really good. I’d like to believe soup weather is over but realistically it’s probably not, so maybe I’ll give it a try.

  3. Love that color and it looks so good!

  4. Adam is a great lover of Lentil soup and this looks like a delicious variation. The lemon provides a nice flavor to the transition from soup season to spring!

  5. Lemon and Lentils..2 of my favs. This sounds great!

  6. Seattle’s soup season is still going strong, and will be until July. I am so looking forward to trying this!

Leave a Reply

