Protein Packed Frittata

During the work week, 2-3 times a week, the Huz and I head to the gym at o’dark thirty so hit the weight room. The workouts (New Rules of Lifting for Women) are getting a bit longer – they are a smidge over an hour a pop when we bust ass to get through it. In order to accommodate this, I’ve taken to preparing breakfasts in advance. Last week, it was a huge batch of steel cut oats. This week, it’s frittata.

072

This actually works really well for post-lifting sessions – it means I don’t have to choke down a protein shake.

Chicken and Vegetable Frittata

Ingredients

    1 cup chopped onion
    1 zucchini, chopped
    4 mushrooms, chopped
    1 clove garlic, minced
    4 asparagus spears, chopped
    1
    cooked chicken breast, chopped
    1 cup chopped spinach
    1/2 tsp dried thyme
    salt and pepper to taste
    5 eggs
    1/2 cup liquid egg whites

Directions

In a 10" oven-safe skillet, sauté vegetables until tender. Pour scrambled eggs and egg whites over. Place lid on pan. Cook until edges of egg start to lift off of the pan.

Remove lid and bake at 350* until firm.

Serving size: 1/4th of pan.
Number of Servings: 4
Nutritionals: here.

073

I love my eggs and this is pretty much the perfect breakfast in my eyes – full of protein, veggies, and flavor! And it’s great as leftovers! (Doused in hot sauce, naturally!)

034

13 Responses

  1. Mmmm love frittatas! Such an easy meal. Sometimes I do that for dinner.

  2. Your frittata looks perfect, I love eggs too!

    Hope you have a great weekend! :]

  3. That looks way too yummy, I love making frittatas 🙂

  4. Wow, I’m super impressed you have such awesome breakfasts during the work week!! I work from home and still don’t have anything half as good. You’re smart to make it ahead!

  5. Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first. ~Ernestine Ulmer

  6. Looks so good! Does it stay refrigerated well?

  7. Looks yummy! Just look at all those veggies. I think I might have one of those pretty soon. Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. Yum I love Frittatas! I’m with you, this sounds way better than a protein shake!

  9. I’m always looking for ways to incorporate more protein in my diet (besides adding a slab o’ beef to the menu!). You frittata looks fabulous…eggs are the answer and you’ve made them delicious!

  10. Wow that looks amazing!!

  11. Looks nice. I love fritata. Too bad boyfriend is not that fond of foods with lots of eggs. But this is worth trying out.

  12. Dark o’thirty, I love that, and the recipe.

Leave a Reply

