Spelt Berry Muffins

Spelt Muffins 008

These are in no way a low calorie muffin, but they are full of healthy good-for-you ingredients like chia seeds, ground flax, and delicious berries.

Spelt Muffins 024

Spelt Berry Muffins

Ingredients

    Wet:
    2 eggs
    1/2c canola oil
    1/2c brown sugar
    1 tsp vanilla
    1/2c rice milk
    1/4 c chia seeds
    1/4 c ground flax
    1 c berries
    Dry:
    1 3/4 c spelt flour
    2 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp salt
    1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Makes 12 muffins. One serving = one muffin.

Combine wet ingredients in a bowl.

Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.

Spoon mixture into a greased muffin tin.

Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

Nutritionals here.

Spelt Muffins 026

I generally suck at baking and I’m relatively new at baking with spelt so I was absolutely convinced that these were going to turn out like hockey pucks but you know what? They didn’t. They were great.

Spelt Muffins 028

The berries added a nice moisture and sweetness, the chia seeds added a little crunch. And while these are rather dense and calorie laden muffins, they aren’t heavy on your stomach and are just filling enough.

Spelt Muffins 015

9 Responses

  1. I’m much better at baking than regular cooking. The calories in those muffins freak me out a little…but something similar would be cool if I could make it about 100 calories each.

    What is spelt? Never heard of it.

  2. Yum! They look far from hockey pucks! ha : )

  3. Looks like to stick to your ribs muffins, they should get you through a morning for sure. With that many calories, etc. I’d have to go the mini muffin route.

  4. When I read the title of the post I thought “Ohno, Leah isn’t going all low-cal low-fat low-flavour on me, is she?”

    I should have known you wouldn’t disappoint. Nutritious AND filling? I must make these!

  5. So yummy! I love berry muffins!

  6. Delicious muffins. Thanks for sharing!

  7. These sound so yummy!! I love the healthier ingredients, sometimes muffins pack too much of a punch, but these sound perfect!

  8. dense calorie laden? im sold! they look yummy!

    Jas at http://OurEyesEatFirst.blogspot.com

  9. These sound wonderful!

Leave a Reply

