Homemade Baked Eggrolls

Last week, I got a wild hair to try something I’ve never done before: homemade eggrolls.

147

Don’t ask how I got started on it, I’m not really sure. All of a sudden, there just happened to be eggroll wraps in my shopping cart and then POOF! Eggrolls were on the meal plan!

025

We reserved a Friday afternoon/evening for the endeavor, it is a bit time consuming.  I made sure we started in on it before I was actually hungry because then I’d be a crankasaurus and no one would be having fun.

065

I scoped out a few recipes and then just decided to wing it. Lucky for me, they turned out pretty darn good!

Leah’s Homemade Baked Pork Eggrolls

Ingredients

    2 cloves garlic, minced
    1 bell pepper, diced
    1/2 an onion, diced
    2 cups grated carrot
    1 cooked pork chop, finely chopped
    1 head of cabbage, finely shredded
    1 T soy sauce
    1 T peanut oil
    18 egg roll wrappers
    1 egg white

Directions

Preheat oven to 425*.

Shred head of cabbage. Place in microwave safe bowl and microwave for 5 minutes. Set aside to cool.

In a pan over medium high heat, heat peanut oil. Saute onion for 3 minutes. Add in garlic and bell pepper. Saute for a couple more minutes. Stir in pork and carrots and stir well. Heat through.

Squeeze out the cabbage draining all excess liquid. Combine with sauteed vegetables and pork.

On a clean surface, place one spoonful of the pork mix into a single egg roll wrap.

Fold and roll up. On the last corner, brush with egg white to seal.

Place completed egg rolls on a greased cookie sheet. Brush with remaining egg white.

Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Makes 18 eggrolls. Serving size: 1 eggroll Nutritionals here.

107

So the first step was to put my lil sous chef to work!

038

Lots of chopping ensued!

032

Bell pepper, onion, carrots were pureed in the food processor, and one pork chop all diced up.

035

{If I had a do-over, I’d do a little bit less carrots.)

And a head of cabbage, shredded.

030

After sautéing the goods, it’s time for the fun part!

043

It was actually pretty easy once we got going on it.

Drop a good amount of stuffing on the wrap.

045

Fold in the bottom corner.

051

Roll a little.

052

Fold in the sides.

054056

Roll a little more.

059

Brush the last corner with egg white and keep on rolling.

064

I opted to bake them in the oven and it worked out to be two batches. The first batch, I didn’t brush completely with egg whites, and the second I did. Definitely brush them with egg whites.

066

Make sure you grease the pan really well; we had a little stickage with getting the egg rolls off the pan and only the side that was touching the pan got crispy so if you can, maybe rotate them half way through the baking?

090140

I made a little soy ginger sauce to dip the eggrolls in.

105

Husband taste test:

115

Thumbs up!

129

These did not make the greatest leftovers. They got a bit soggy and we ended up eating the leftovers with a knife and fork. It’s not a huge deal, just something to note.

132

After the entire endeavor, I resolved that I would rather just order greasy Chinese and not have any dishes to do instead of trying to make my own egg rolls. Things might be different if I had a deep fryer though!

12 Responses

  1. Homemade fried egg rolls are the best thing ever. Says the one who will soon have a Vietnamese stepmother-in-law.

    DO NOT buy a deep fryer. We have one and although I haven’t actually eaten anything that’s been fried using it (it’s been a “boy’s night” thing) I know that day will end at some point. I don’t think anyone needs a deep fryer in their home! But the boy disagreed, and here we are 🙂

  2. i think your baked eggrolls look delicious! funny that you decided at the end you’d prefer to order chinese 🙂 i guess you can’t get that same crunch without a fryer, huh?

  3. So awesome! These look super awesome and not THAT hard. I always think of Asian food as so difficult to make. Thanks!

  4. That looks surprisingly easy to make! Now I’m wondering why I never make Asian food. YUM!

  5. The look really good! I can’t wait to try these. I want to make them with salmon!

  6. Your eggrolls look scrumptious, and you make it look so easy! Too bad they didn’t make the best leftovers. I hate to say it, but the best foods are always fried… *Sigh*…

  7. Baking eggrolls is such a cool idea :-). And they look so crispy and yummy.

  8. So good looking and yummy! Can’t wait to make them myself 🙂

  9. YUM! I love that they are baked…and full of exactly what I’d put in egg rolls 🙂

  10. These look very filling and tasty. Way to save some calories by baking them.

  11. Love it! I do like to bake/cook in big batch and freeze for easy lunches and these look perfect! Well done enlisting some help!

  12. I’m so excited to try these.I’ve been looking for a baked eggroll recipe.

Leave a Reply

