Vegan Black Bean Quesadillas

I love love love Mexican food. But I don’t tend to make it a lot or go out to eat it a lot because it is pretty cheese-laden and my tummy no likey. But I love the flavors – spicy, beans, corn, cilantro, salsa, guacamole, oh yeah!

Well, last week, I found myself craving a quesadilla, minus the queso.

012

So I invented a super flavorful cheese-less quesadilla that left me wanting to go back for more.

Vegan Black Bean Quesadillas

Ingredients

1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup corn
1/2 cup salsa
1 4oz can diced green chiles, drained well
1/2 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp cumin
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
6 tortillas

Combine all ingredients (except tortillas) in a bowl and mix well.

Over medium heat, heat tortilla one at a time and fill with 1/6 of the black bean mix. Add cheese if desired. Fold over tortilla and cook for 2 minutes. Flip. Cook 1 more minute.

Slice in to thirds and serve with salsa.
Number of Servings: 6

Nutritionals here.

009

So they were super easy and really flavorful. Sure, there wasn’t the ooey gooey cheese factor (which made them a little messy since there wasn’t any “glue” for the filling") but there wasn’t the greasy ew factor either.

007

And I tried these new gluten-free wraps that were pretty sweet. They are perfect for quesadillas, not so bueno for breakfast burritos though.

019

Sh! I may have slipped some rice cheese in a couple of the quesadillas! And it was fab!

016

14 Responses

  1. I love quesadillas! This sounds like a rockin’ combo!

  2. Sounds good. I’ll have to try.

  3. So good! Have you tried trader joe’s corn salsa?? its wonderful and i eat it with all my quesadillas. This reminds me of it 🙂

  4. I have a huge weakness for cheese, and quesadillas…..but this looks really darn good, I will try it, thanks for sharing!

  5. Love love love it!! Black beans and I are best buddies!

  6. Oh thank you! I’ve been looking for dairy-free recipes like this to serve my sister in law when she comes to visit as she’s allergic to dairy! This looks SO good!

  7. That’s a great quesadilla! I need more recipes like this… as of next week, I am going on a vegan fast for 6 weeks! I need all the vegan recipes I can get… I am copying this one asap.

  8. Looks so light and yummy! Did you have a problem with the ingredients falling out of the quesadilla because there wasn’t cheese to hold it together?

  9. Yummy! I love black bean quesadillas – with all that flavor, I don’t think I would even miss the cheese!

  10. great blog! not a vegan but would love this : j

  11. Chili and cilantro! YUM! I bet you didn’t miss the cheese at all!

Leave a Reply

